You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Negative Voting and Steem

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

In view of this, perhaps self-upvoing should be removed altogether.

It is impossible to have a game theory discussion with n00bs. I am getting exhausted repeating some points over and over and over again.

You can't remove the ability to upvote yourself, because you can't prevent people from creating and funding other accounts to vote from.

Sort:  

A lot of things can be gamed. That is not a reason to facilitate them. Sure people can make multiple accounts to upvote themselves but without significant SP it really doesn't matter very much.

The discussion was about whales self-upvoting their own posts. If a minnow creates multiple accounts to self upvote it won't have any noticeable effect unless they put significant SP into each one.

Due to the way powering down works it isn't really very feasible for a whale to split up their SP amongst lots of accounts unless they want to spend a long time doing it.

Due to the way powering down works it isn't really very feasible for a whale to split up their SP amongst lots of accounts unless they want to spend a long time doing it.

Again I will just waste my time if I try to communicate with n00bs about programming and game theory level logic.

The whale can create a new account and upvote that from his whale sized SP. That doesn't take a long time. He doesn't need to transfer the SP.

"Again I will just waste my time if I try to communicate with n00bs about programming and game theory level logic."

Yes you will be wasting your time. If what you say is possible then the system is broken and needs to be fixed.

It is also quite funny that you take the time to respond but can't be "bothered" to give an explanation. Not only is your tone highly insulting but I suspect you are incapable of actually explaining yourself.

I was following you but your attitude has shown me that was a mistake.