You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Important Changes to Steemit.com and Wallet

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

This new change has been a little confusing, but I think it's a positive change. There's been a lot of people who got phished and lost money by logging into steemit with their master key and accidentally gave it to hackers by clicking on corrupt links, now that looks like that won't be a problem anymore.

WHAT IF I HADN'T???? I WOULDN'T BE ABLE TO GET IN!!!!

You can find your posting key in your wallet by clicking on the keys and permissions tab.

Edit: now that I've calmed down I have somewhat figured it out: gotta have TWO FUCKING KEYS TO ACCESS MY SHIT. FUCKING DUMB!!!!

It's been suggested for a long time, I think since the very beginning to use your posting key to post and to not use your main key, so.. For many of us we were already using two separate keys. It's not dumb in my opinion especially as someone who runs a community where you can give people permission to post but not to withdraw from the wallet.

POWER DOWN PEOPLE. THIS BOAT IS SINKING.

It really seems like you're blowing this out of proportion, it's a relatively minor change that I think will save a lot of people a lot of money by preventing them from getting phished/hacked in the future and if you dislike it so much you can always use busy.org or steempeak as well or partiko or one of the other front ends. Steem is so much more than just the front end you use to access the block chain.

Sort:  

Price of steem: $0.45

Yeah, I'll be back in 13 weeks.

Do whatever you wanna do, but maybe you'd have a better experience if you worried less about the value of steem and just appreciated interacting with interesting people on a less censored network.