You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem ranked 3rd best blockchain by China

in #steem5 years ago

Where is you information about EOS Full Node RAM requirements from?
I'm not aware that you can even get 7TB on a single Server Motherboard.
The highest I can find is 4TB with 2 x AMD Epyc CPUs.
Intel Platinums can only address 1TB max.

If this is true then EOS is heading for a train wreck. You'll need a super computer to run a full node!
That means only governments and huge corporations will be able to run them.

Sort:  

Ram doesn't have to be physical ram, it can be some physical ram and a few nvme's. I know a lot of witnesses run steem nodes with this trick.

@aggroed was specifically talking about physical RAM. Otherwise his price per GB point makes no sense.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ah I red the part where he considered price too quickly. But yeah I assume actual EOS full nodes don't run all of their memory with actual physical RAM.