Sort:  

You are correct that it will grow at a slower pace but incorrect about invisible. There are many on here who did not put in a single dollar to purchasing STEEM who have seen their power grow. Yes it is the longer route but it is still a viable path. Plus it is becoming more of a reality since the price of STEEM is increased. Now, to buy in at the 10K SP level is about 60K....it was $8500 two months ago. The buying in to make an impact is becoming less and less with each increase in the price of STEEM. At $20, which I believe we will see within 6 months, $5K gets one 250 SP....not much visibility for that money.

Factor in communities which will increase the visibility that individuals have greatly, and you can see how this isnt a theory at all.

True, it becomes more and more expensive to buy into visibility - but this makes things even worse in a way, because the people that are already invested and have visibility will gain even more, while making it nearly impossible for newbies to catch up. Please get me right, I´m totally in love with Steem and see its huge potential, but on the other hand, some things also concern me. I wrote about it today here: https://busy.org/steem/@atmosblack/why-the-extreme-rise-in-steem-will-potentially-backfire

not if you are talented and can produce content people like.

Well, this depends on the definition of good content. I have found quite some people here the past 3 weeks, who really produce great content (for me) and have nearly no audience at all (yet). Besides that, as we know from other social media, 90% of all users are not content producers at all - but they are the audience, the 10% need and without them, the content producers would be nothing. So if there is no way for the 90% to also earn credits, the system is going to fail.
For me personally, I am used to produce content for different audiences (I actually do this for a living), and I also don´t worry for myself, but I have the bigger picture in mind and that includes also seeing different influences in a critical way.