You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Code Is Law (Only When I Want, Otherwise It's Abuse)" - The Shaming Syndicate Of Steemit - Our Own Brand of SJWs & Social Repression

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Despite explicit statements from @dan that people should be free to do anything with their vote, (including sell it,) and a strong anarchist undercurrent across the platform, there is frequent push-back against a number of inevitable services that, much like the trade of drugs, cannot ever be stopped.

Have you read Dan's most recent comments? They suggest otherwise. In fact @dan designed this system to prevent the type of market your defending from happening in the first place. Unfortunately we made changes after he left which removed those protections.

Sort:  

Thanks for bringing those to my attention.

I don't think vote-selling is a good thing.

However, I personally agree with @Reggaemuffin (if I may paraphrase his stance, received second-hand) - since there is no way to prevent this behavior, the option that reduces the most harm is conducting it out in the open with clear guidelines. Hence, you get Minnowbooster.

This post is really a response to @theleapingkoala 's image I included and encouragement to stop shaming other's behavior.

After reading Dan's comment, I agree philosophically, but again refer to the main point of my article. I see no suggestion for how to stop this behavior. Shaming it drives it underground, relegating it to higher profits and mostly abusers, without even a typical "police" to attempt to enforce.

Perhaps most importantly, this shaming goes on towards minnows while whale voting rings farm the reward pool. That's probably more relevant than the rest of my comment above.

Profit privatization at the top, barriers erected to protect territory.

Ps - I watched your recent vlog on Steemit politics. I think we're roughly on the same page philosophically.

I see no suggestion for how to stop this behavior. Shaming it drives it underground, relegating it to higher profits and mostly abusers, without even a typical "police" to attempt to enforce.

You can see that from my most recent post. It is completely shamed so far underground that I'm actually more comfortable there.

According to dan this is the result of the linear reward curve. And so I think it has proven unsustainable.

"According to dan this is the result of the linear reward curve."

I think he might be dead on. Who could know better?

"underground that I'm actually more comfortable there."

Ah, yes, I am familiar with the VOTU acronym!

Good job! Thanks to @lexiconical you have planted 0.13 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14273.92. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

I really despise all this spam...

I am sorry, you do not like it. We should start thinking about our nature and focus on its protection. I could understand people do not see it because it is just not important for them so I am trying to bring their attention. Maybe not using the best way. If you know better one, please teach me. I really need help to raise funding to save Abongphen Highland Forest before it is too late. Thanks a lot.