You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Budget Proposals Whitepaper!

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I have a 1000 friends on facebook. I promoted STEEMIT privately to three people. ALL are inactive. In order to be "somebodY" you have to spend hours and hours and be ok to not get paid. 6 months of work and I manage $1.00 per post! My work is really no different than anyone else's. Circle Jerking, paid bots is the name of the game. No rewards for new users (or pennies) really doesn't give people the interest to stick around. Time is money, and if it doesn't look or "feel" like facebook then they are not interested in switching. The only reason I stick around is because I happen to enjoy posting. Most people are more interested in WEALTH. If there is none, or it takes up too much time; then bye bye.

Sort:  

I think you've accurately described why Jerry is proposing this change! There would be many ways to earn rewards on Steem that would NOT be writing blog posts.

@bearbear613 put it like this, from what i've seen you post 3-4 posts per day so let say if everyone on this platform will post 3-4 posts per day ...make math and nobody invest in platform like real money... i think you see my point... btw steemit isn't facebook

Actually I am trying to figure out your point. Most people put up 1 post a day; get 0.03 cents if they are luckly and wait 7 days for a payout. They aren't going to stay. They know NOBODY and have to work really hard to understand curation blah blah blah. I happened to enjoy it. I happen to post 3-4 a day and was ok with getting 0.03 cents because I enjoy the platform. Fast forward 6 months later and now I am averaging $1.00 per post because I happen to join great communities. Communities is key to survive now. Tribalism. Why? Because whales can sit pretty! It's like any boss. They don't give a shit about little ol me! That's alright, because I enjoy the platform without getting noticed. I dont cry about it because I have actually made some interesting connections here. At the end of the day, however it would seem 3/4 people (including myself) said screw it we don't enjoy Steemit. I only stayed and I couldn't give them a boost (because I am just a minnow). They would rather post for free on facebook (and continue to do so). I'm just trying to figure out your point. So you would rather everyone be posting once a day for 0.03 cents rather than 0.12 cents?

"They know NOBODY and have to work really hard to understand curation blah blah blah" work harder don't expect someone else to do things for you, stop complaining and if rather prefer to post on facebook or somewhere else for nothing is your choice. I'm on steemit for 4 months now and guess what i spend a lot time going through steem communities, helped others, comment on other posts, made me visible and now everything i got is in my SP and i'm delegating that SP to continue to help and not to run away with what i have made...

I'm not complaining. I don't give a shit either way. I'm explaining why expanding will be difficult. That's all. That's great you put time into this.. so did I and I'm happy with my "reward". 650 SP is just fine. I don't plan on spending anything because in all honesty $650 is good for 2 weeks of food for me and my family. That's 6 months of "work" lol! If I invest $50,000 real money into the platform I am not going to do shit ALL. I'll upvote my post and promote I'm giving away $5.00 upvotes. it's that easy. However, I don't believe STEEMIT will survive without ADVERTISING MONEY. Stop beating around the bush with these little cookies to "earn" Steem. You want to make money? CLICK ON AN ADD; get upvoted by the advertiser. Boom STEEM $10.00. If you like post's about emotion and feelings and opinions then do it for the love of it. Because like Jerry said he works all week for a post that maybe will get $100-$200. My wife makes more than that tutoring 4 hours a week.

The way the site is designed it does not really need advertising money, I mean it would certainly help if they did it.... But look at the economics of this site, basically money talks. So lets say Apple wants to promote their new IPhone on Steemit all they have to do is create an account buy steem power create a post, vote on their post and depending on how much steem power they purchased the post would be on top of trending list, which is basically the same thing as buying an advertisement... I mean if this site ever gets to reddit level I would not be surprised if the trending tab is nothing but posts created by corporate funded accounts... I am not against additional advertising which would have to be purchased with steem, but the only way to attract advertisers is with user growth....

Steem is ripe for direct advertising in memos, at least while ever the price of steem is cheap. You can send out 100,000 directed adverts for $100.

People could down vote such posts couldnt they?

yes, but downvoting just like upvoting depends on steem power, so if a user with not much steem power tries to downvote someone with lots of steem power it wont make much difference, but yes you are correct if lots of people decided to downvote a post like i described above it would eventually be hidden if the downvotes surpass the steem power of the upvotes

So much truth. The propose is heading to the right way.