@Dan, when you enrich this platform with your content, please would you consider accepting the rewards you earn?

in #steem7 years ago

I think many would agree that there are few people more deserving. Your holdings of Steem, rewards for historic work, are irrelevant. I think many would also agree that you deserve those and far more.

If auto-voting and whale-voting curators blow up the rewards, so be it. It's already happening, often to authors who are perhaps less deserving.

It was a noble choice to reject your own rewards, but please, accept something for your enormous contribution to the quality of this platform. You will only encourage others who have something important to preserve or say.

All the best.

Sort:  

It is not about whether Dan is adding value, but it is more a matter of how the community's limited rewards pool is allocated. Dan already has millions of dollars of STEEM. The view of a lot of people in the community is that he does not really need to grow his stake even more. If we use our resources to add to his stake, then that is less to incentivize new users to contribute and other members to put time and effort in to grow the platform.

Dan is heavily vested in the platform, so it is not like the things he does to add value go unrewarded. He will get a better return on his investment if he adds value to this platform, and the price of STEEM goes up.

I understand this point very well @timcliff but thank you for adding it as a comment. I would rather dan was rewarded even more than some of the authors presently making use of the reward pool, just my opinion.

Well I agree with the sentiment behind your thought, but in my view I think that means we need to do a better job recruiting more talented content creators, and do better at rewarding the undervalued ones that are already here producing great content.

Well obviously I agree with this :)

Devil's advocate: EOS has raised $200mm and raises ~$4mm every day in their daily auctions. By contrast, Steem has less than $2mm in TOTAL trading volume in the last 24 hours. Much of that EOS fund raise has come from his following on Steem. Dan's Steemian followers have been selling Steem to buy into EOS or using other crypto or fiat to invest in EOS instead of buying Steem. Nothing hurts Steem's price more than the imbalance we have between people withdrawing(selling) Steem and those depositing(buying) Steem. Everything else pales in comparison and fixing this ratio should be people's focus, not flag wars, flame wars and shade throwing. EOS has been a huge cause of this imbalance in the short term and it goes on and on and on. And EOS is talked about and hyped a LOT on Steem. Now EOS has more value than Steem, despite not even having launched a product, all the while Steem is being used actively by all of us and left behind in value.

This imbalance withdrawal/deposit issue is a much bigger deal than any other issue, yet people barely focus on it. You can see the ratio of people withdrawing/depositing here.

https://plot.ly/~lukestokes/96/withdrawal-to-deposit-ratio-by-user-count-over-time/

This ratio spiked in conjunction with the EOS fund raise and that fund raise continues for another 340 days. EOS has been RAISING more in each daily auction than Steem has TOTAL VOLUME in trading. The marginal impact of EOS on Steem price is likely very significant.

So no, I don't think Dan needs to accept rewards to benefit from his posts. He has the option to do, as do we all. But pleading with him to do so is really strange when he has fundraised a potential competitor (at least for investor demand if nothing else) on the back of Steem and his Steemian following.

HEY!!! I was gonna say that but in about 6 words. lol

I put in an ETH and didn't my tokens, 7 days ago. Even says to EOS Contract on the block Weird.

@solarguy, you need to run the "claimAll" function of the EOS smart contract in order to receive your tokens.

ah so, let me give that a try. When i use etherscan.io that option never shows up. nor anything about claiming any tokens which is what the other advice has told me to no avail.. I will give it a go.

So where do I need to look to see this "ClaimAll"button?

I'm not pleading eeks, I believe he adds value to the platform and should accept compensation. Whether he does or not is an entirely different matter. I don't think the issue you raise about Steemians selling steem to purchase EOS is relevant.

I can understand why you are concerned but if people value Steem and the products on steem, then more people will be able to access a share of steem for less and once external market influences become more balanced, then Steem may have a much greater number of participants which will actually protect it from competitors and should be reflected in the price. It depends what you value and what length of time you are looking at.

I am not sure the 2nd paragraph made sense at all? I had trouble following it at all and it just doesn't scan for me.

Dan is using his influence on Steem to help raise money for EOS, which is a competitor for investment demand to Steem and potentially a competitor to Steem itself as a product, depending on how it's implemented. And you want him to get to ALSO get paid more personally for posting about EOS and other things on Steem? Your take is a very strange one to me and probably bad for the long term of Steem.

Consider selling your EOS tokens and using those proceeds to buy Steem so you can help reverse the ration of withdrawals to deposits.

I'm not sure what 'doesn't scan' means... but if you are not sure if it doesn't make sense, that surely means that you accept on some level that it might. If people sell Steem, there is always a buyer, yes? If the price drops, that makes Steem more accessible for others and hopefully, if the distribution is broader and into stronger hands, this is a perhaps a positive thing. It is possible, assuming people believe in the utility of Steem and its products, that once the market rebalances, Steem could be in a much stronger position and the price may reflect that in the end. It may be more resilient to competition, though EOS is certainly not direct competition. EOS may have helped Steem to become more robust in a shorter time than it would otherwise. Price isn't everything, it depends on how far you are prepared to look.

"but if you are not sure if it doesn't make sense, that surely means that you accept on some level that it might. "

This does not follow logically even a little.

Price (and markets) are not everything but they are a LOT and they reduce complex things into simpler numbers for the purpose of allocating resources.

Dear oh dear. You haven't addressed my point at all. But look, forget it. Let's move on.

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

great points man, I'm hoping for a bit bigger dip so I can buy more :)

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

Sadly, this is a ridiculous argument.

Hello, my name is Urma and I am Baah's caretaker.

I think it's great that you've decided to start a conversation with my little baah baah black sheep, however there is something that you should know.
Baah has autism and as such struggles with a few things like accepting that other people may have a different opinion on a subject.

Please remember this when debating with him, after all he is my special little friendly guy!

Hi urma, @baah comes across as a really smart guy. What I was trying to get both him and @eeks to understand is that they are making assumptions about future outcomes and presenting them as fact. They may well be correct, I don't think so, but I would hope they could consider a longer view and broaden their perspective. It allows the possibility to then look at things in a different way. I've got nothing but love for them both :)

Your claim....offered as fact....that dan is undermining the value of the token and the community is absurd and unsubstantiated.

My opinion is that he adds value to Steem when he posts and my opinion is that he should keep his rewards.

wow @eeks what a good comment hence why I am gkad that am following you..I agree. Steem on

You can send SBD to his wallet he can not turn that off :)

@benjojo - I am just a minnow here (1 month old) but have been reading about Dan's efforts. I totally agree with your sentiment that he should accept rewards. I am grateful to @dan and senior Steemians like you for this wonderful community where I feel supported Thanks for this post. Hope our sentiments reach @dan.

As my tiny contribution to the quality on this platform, I am continuing my focus on wildlife blogs with my original photos and my musings with a twist with them. Today I wrote a blog on Snoozing parrots with my musings about Thomas Carlyle equating parrots to economists. I request you to take a look at it when you have time. Your comments, as always, would be an encouragement and incentive for me to make better blogs. Thanks

Thank you for commenting, I'm glad you agree he should keep the rewards. Your blog sounds interesting, i'm following you now and will check out some of your posts.

Dan, I appreciate your effort and dedication. You are a noble person and have earned my respect. Thank you!

Dan sets a fantastic example...

well said 100% agree.

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment