You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is steemit really as bad as I think?

in #steem7 years ago

Welcome to steemit @odd1.

Is steemit really as bad as I think?

Yes, it is (maybe even worse).

You already mentioned the global-warming deniers and anti-vaxxers, but have you found the flat-earthers on steemit?

There are high amounts of steempower owned by and delegated to users promoting such nonsense.

Be a bit careful with exposing and downvoting this BS, look for example what happened to the account of one of my followers after posting this or more recently to this account.

As already remarked, some of the double postings these days are caused by the fact that steemit.com is not working properly and some operations are not getting displayed. When up/downvoting or posting something, it's advisable to look at steemd.com whether the operation has been processed.

But what one can see at these repeated posts is that a high percentage of votes is automated and done by bots, and many users (including ones with very high steempower) don't read what they upvote.

Maybe the steemstem tag is better when looking for science posts, the science tag is often spammed with pseudo-science. There is a community of people interested in science: https://steemit.chat/channel/steemSTEM

Please don't use the introduceyourself tag repeatedly, it should only be used once (I think you can edit tags apart from the first one).

Sort:  

Hello,

I've edited the post and removed the introduceyourself tag.
I had no idea this site had flat earthers. I mean, that's a new low. That's a whole new level of stupidity, damn. I can't comprehend how one can believe such a thing.

I'm aware that the double postings were not OPs fault. He told me he got an error and so he kept clicking on "post". What I meant to say is what you said, much more eloquently than I did, the community upvotes without paying attention, apparently by using bots.

Thank you for commenting. I will continue downvoting anti-vaxxers, anti-global-warming and all the other BS. Hopefully others will too (you included).