You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Alliance Takes Shape | A Steemit Backed Community Governance Organization

in #steem5 years ago

@llfarms

thanks for grabbing the names so far.
I see that @crimsonclad has rightly so, brought up conflict of interest. I think this is hugely important and should not be dismissed so easily. If the intent is openness and impartial governance or at least, an impartial conduit in both directions, to and from the community at large, then both actual Conflict of Interest and the Appearance if it must be addressed.

I like seeing many mentioned so far, however, it's important that, there is buy in and acknowledgement form top witnesses and whales, that, voices all among the steem community need to be heard. Whales, Orca, Dolphins and yes, Minnows and Redfish. Without buy in and engagement at all levels, then, the voices and opinions become insular and often miss important views from the trenches.

A diverse group needs to be representative. Not merely the same names and same voices, and same opinions as always.

Sort:  

I'm still unsure if I am going to moving beyond a "help others get this started and lett'r rip" capacity; my first and foremost goal is to accomplish as much as I can supporting people, communities, and companies directly... but since we are beginning with a non-voting working group, it's things like this that I tend to think on carefully and present to those involved with ways to diagnose strengths and weaknesses. A conflict of interest doesn't need to be a deal breaker if it is recognized, considered, and nullified in a way that still allows for positive participation.

I realize that many feel like top twenty witnesses already run the show and there should be a preponderance of diverse voices to work in tandem with any who may decide to run for a place on this board, which is why I asked outright. I look forward to hearing from the community on all of this.