Why I've stopped posting and what's next

in #steem6 years ago

When I joined Steemit in late December, the SBD was reaching for USD13. That's been a good incentive, of course, but it was not the main reason I joined Steemit. It's was not a reason at all.

Matter of fact, I had no previous experience with any crypto currency and at first I kinda thought SBD was like an internal reward system, like the Superuser medals or something similar.

After a few chats with the helpful crowd at the Homesteaders Online Discord server I got to grips with the system and started posting regularly, taking photos, even made my wife (@bghandmade) join Steemit to share some of our handmade paper work.

Fast forward a few months and I found that the initial enthusiasm has drained completely.

The main reason is the fact Steemit makes your work's value seem so volatile, so temporary.


Sorry, Shakespeare, that's a great play but it's 8 days old!


I suppose my disappointment stems from the fact I came to the platform thinking it was some kind of a knowledge repository with an honest reward system for people that really do contribute.

In time I came to realize Steemit is more like Twitter or Instagram, a flock of fleeting moments, insignificant the week after. So I'm very much amazed at all the curation initiatives that encourage people to create great and meaningful stuff that will literally loose its value in a week.

I don't understand why a love poem from 5 years ago couldn't resonate with a whale or get you "a Curie" even if it's not written the last week.

Right now Steemit seems to me like a day job - you must spend a few hours each day "catering" to the platform and the audience. Otherwise the income from Steem will crash down to 0 in 7 days. That's not to say one cannot or should not enjoy the process, but it still remains a process that must be upheld, otherwise you're out of luck.

While I admire the epic efforts of many favorite Steemians in posting great daily stuff, that's not everybody's game and as I came to realize recently, certainly not mine.

The time commitment is something I cannot currently manage and what's more, making something obligatory by imposing the 7 day limit takes away the spontaneous desire to create a meaningful and lasting post.


I'd really like to see a wikipedia-like platform that uses the Steem incentive model, but not limited by arbitrary time-bombs. Like the article I just read on the hummingbird hawk-moth, created step by step by a group of people that would all benefit from my "Like" or "upvote" or whatever.

Now that's something I could really enjoy contributing to, in the gardening and permaculture section at least!


So I've decided to stop posting on Steemit for the time being. Later on, I plan to start using it as an Instagram feed via @Steepshot, which I find quick and easy to use. And I think perfectly aligns with the current Steemit model and the quickly expiring content.

Cheers all and a special thank-you to my Steemit mentor - @pennsif!

Sort:  

Have to agree I don't like the 7-day kapoof your post is out! Probably move your content to a blog of your own so it's still there for the search engines.

Glad steepshot would work for the mean time.

My plan it to use Steemit and DTube to host my content, and then have an external website that links to it. (I came here in April as part of the migration away from YouTube.) I like to think that my post will be upvoted, but in the long term I want the content to be persistent and distributed so that it is permanent.

I can't tell you how glad I am to have found this post, you've pretty much summed up my feelings. I've been increasingly concerned that the quality content creators who I started following at the back end of 2017 no longer post. I completely understand why.

Thank you for sharing your reasons, you've given me some food for thought.

Wow, that's a point of view I haven't come across before. Very interesting and thought provoking.

Yaay! It's not just me who thinks in this way. Great idea on using Steepshot, I am going to do the same :).

Yep and what's better is this idea was inspired by my wife, who asked if there was a simple way to just post a photo on Steemit. So I went and found out about Steepshot, she gave it a go, it works ok! :)

It's true in every way, unfortunately that is the kind of atmosphere the Steem platform promotes. Unless it changes, it will remain the same. Which is a shame because they miss out on what could potentially be a large customer base.

The 7 day payment rule is a nuisance and a hindrance.

It used to be 30 days before I joined I believe, and there was supposed to be a change to make it non time limited, but somehow when the HardFork was implimented at the time it became 7 days.

That is a feature now of the steem blockchain. I guess if there was a will the witnesses could technically change it...

I've had a little look at Steepshot. I believe it takes a 15% cut on the post rewards... maybe that is why it is called Steepshot !


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Thanks @bobydimitrov for your summary of why you stopped posting on Steem, and i think many that stopped posting feel the same.

I guess the 7 days payment rules is here to promote creation of fresh content like the rest of the popular platforms that are designed to keep its users glued to the screen to generate more ad revenue.

Im not sure Steem have to follow the same formula.

Thank you for that comment. I'm pretty sure even if the seven day limit is removed people would still be creating fresh content, but I understand the initial logic behind that decision.

On a positive note, the wife has taken to Partico and posts regularly. It just is not really my type of use.

As per the FAQ it's 10% but still, there's no other quick and easy interface that I know of! Do share if you find an Android app with an at least ok-ish UX!

Congratulations @bobydimitrov! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bobydimitrov! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bobydimitrov! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi Boby!
I have also been absent for almost a year now but would like to go on in one way or the other. Was wondering if there is any news on making upvoting or tipping on old content possible, as I agree that that was a very weak point of this platform.
Never the less: Thanks so much for mentioning @Steemshot. It looks like that could be a format for my ephemeral social apperarance as well.

Hey man, glad to read your message!

Sadly, the core platform is not about to change in those regards. What my hope is that the SMTs would allow for the emergence of other platforms, also based on the Steem blockchain but with their own set of rules. And someday, maybe, eventually, we could possibly get a crowdsources knowledge based with crypto rewards. I could easily see a Superuser-like forum platform that awards tokens as well. Why not even a Discord channel, where each reaction to a message is a reward?

Re: Steepshot. We trialed that and while the interface of the phone app is ok bordering on mediocre, it's usable. The main problem is that Steepshot platform takes 25% of your earnings. Fair enough, I would say, even if you have to dig quite a bit to learn that.

Right now the wife (@bghandmade) is trying to re-start using Steemit by back-posting some photos from the growing season. She found out the easier way to do it was via the main Steemit site, opened as a "Chrome app". Give it a try!