You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Three paths forward for Steem.

in #steem5 years ago

Can't really argue with anything you say here. Of course I would say the likelihood for any of these futures except #1 happening is in the slim to none category. BTW there is a sort of amusing typo I should point out, "Here I'm going to prevent three possible futures where Steem could become more viable." where "prevent" should be "present" :)

Sort:  

Hah.

You don't think #2 is viable? I think if that could be done technically the votes for it would probably be there.

Not that I don't think it is viable or a good idea, but just I don't really see much incentive for the large stakeholders to do much of anything except the status quo. To take advantage of a shorter power down time and capitalize on arbitrage opportunities in the market they would still have to have SP not devoted to vote delegation right? The bid bot economy is already such a large and stable cash cow that I am just not convinced there is much incentive to do anything different at all. As you point out, there are already many blockchain alternatives with much shorter powerdown times for people who want to take advantage of crypto price swings, but there is some inherent risk in doing that - I see basically no risk in the bid bot economy to the large stakeholders.