You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Correcting Bloomberg's Wrong Interpretation Of Things: Steem Doesn't Have A Content Quality Problem!

in #steem6 years ago

Its not just the garbage I have to wade through in my feed, but the sheer number of garbage spam comments that fill up some users posts is staggering. One or two word responses, the "awesome job" comments, the single .gif postings......it's troubling.

"The community should be self-policing and we must all take responsibilty.
Encourage people who work hard on content (even if its not necessarily great) and discourage the quick buck merchants. It's not difficult." This has got to be the ethos of STEEMIT if the content creators want it to succeed.

I'm a bit guilty of this myself. sometimes I just want to share a photo, and not do a whole blog about the food I'm eating, this tree I'm carving or this herb i'm foraging for. I think a good mix of high-quality blog posts with a few "instagram-like" photos or videos is a good mix for most people. I'd like to see more content that isn't just crypto analysis too.

Sort:  

yesss i'm with you on that. There are many times when I also want to just bang a couple of lines of thought down and use this thing more like traditional social media. I usually do it under the pretence of attempting win a photocomp lol...
Steemit is all things to all people...a full blown blog or a social media platform and it needs to get filters in place to allow people to use it as they wish to....as long as its original and honest.

Steemit is all things to all people...

Nicely said. And this is one of its biggest assets actually.

Re: garbage spam comments... How about a mechanism to block a particular user from dropping comments in your own posts? Each blogger could weed out those accounts leaving spam or useless comments.