You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: More than 1 million STEEM was withdrawn from Poloniex yesterday!

in #steem7 years ago

I don't know about "shady", but I'll admit there is some concern. Unlike Bitcoin, there's the counterparty element at play here. Holders of USDT and similar are banking on the counterparty to make good their undertakings.

Sure, they might be in the position right now. But what about the future? When push comes to shove, they will be taking care of their interest first and foremost. Obligations might only be partially met, renegotiated...or not at all where they abscond. Leaving holders high and dry.

This isn't "real US$" - regardless of what one may think of the US and other governments, they have real power and access to various resources. With US$, euro, yen and other fiat, holders will "get something" although the value might be less.

So, despite having some USDT, I regard this as just a temporary measure for the immediate and short term. After this I will either buy back BTC and keep; or send it to an exchange where I can sell for Malaysia Ringgit (because this is where I'm living).

Golos Gold... I've heard of that name before. Thanks for mentioning it. I will do some research and see whether it can also be a convenient and reliable alternative during moments of turmoil in the crypto market.