The Day I Became a MEEP Whale

in #steem5 years ago

image.png


My fellow steemians, I have a confession to make. For a little over a week now, I've been a MEEP whale. The Thursday before last, after @crimsonclad's Full Force Radio, I decided to make a decision that would change the course of my entire STEEM journey and, for a 24 hour period, firmly establish my standing as a MEEP whale. Where should this story even begin?

I had been giving one of the members of my furry cult some grief over their decision to create a shitcoin printing press. It seems that as much as I have wanted tokens on the STEEM platform, I was struggling to make peace with the way that some people had already begun to adopt what I considered to be predatory practices of issuing tokens with the same symbol of well known coins, undoubtedly to take advantage of unaware traders, but it's not really fair to blame my furry cult member for how people misuse a decentralized tool and fails to look at all of the potential the tool brings to the platform.

After several days of giving Uncle Aggy, aka @aggroed, a healthy serving of shit, I was listening to my usual dose of metal and debauchery on Thursday when at the end of the show Crimmi mentioned that MEEP had been created. If you've been around this blockchain as long as I have, then surely you remember our long time faithful Steemian of few words, @ionlysaymeep.

I've had a few meep-offs with the old meepster in my time and while others may see his limited vocabulary and one-word replies as spam, I tell you there's a deeper and much more heartfelt meaning in those meeps. If you read closely, you can almost hear the distinctions in the meeps and eventually you can grow to understand our compatriot and the message of joy and prosperity that he aims to share with us. All of that being said, when I found out that @ionlysaymeep was tokenizing the meeps, I knew I had to get my hands on some of them before the imminent Lunar exploration began.

I hurried over to the Steem Engine site and after a quick search, I found what I had been frantically seeking. However, nothing could have prepared me for what I saw next. The current circulating supply of MEEP was only 100 tokens and the entire initial supply was available at 0.001 STEEM each. I knew this was the chance of a lifetime and by the grace of the old gods and the new, I had the required 0.1 STEEM to capitalize on this opportunity.

Before I was even fully aware of the implications of what I was doing, I snatched up all 100 of the initial tokens and sat there looking at the majesty of my horde. I could only imagine what my buddy @ionlysaymeep was thinking when listing these precious MEEPs so cheaply, but I imagine he'd probably say, "Meep." Sure, there's been some more tokens issued since, but there's just something magnificent about holding the genesis tokens of what is surely going to become one of STEEM's premier tokens. See you on the moon my friends.


image.png

Image source.

Sort:  

It was you??? You bastard.

I love MEEP also, and I abhor the miserable assholes who cannot allow us to have some simple pleasures here.

I hope MEEP says something soon... I am sure jealous you have the tokens though. I have one lonely MEEP

LOL, I sent you a MEEP. He replied on this post, so the meepster is still around.

Thank you! ;)

mannn and now they're 2 cents?? Damnit.... guess i'll buy some anyway

Nice one man...

Meep!

!dramatoken

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can't lie, seeing MEEP tokens gave me a bigger smile than many things I've seen around the chain throughout the bear market.

I love this story. I heard about MEEP from @whatsup. It was before my time. That's so cool you gave her a MeeP token!!!

Got to love Steemians :D

!shit I almost forgot.......... Nope, I did forget........

LOL, thanks, I'm a fan of Bernie's SHIT too.

Hey! I took a dump in your wallet! Take a trip to the bathroom to claim your worthless SHIT!

what?! only for writing SHIT some people got tokens?!
Awesome - Beaker would love this :D

!meep btw :D

:D welcome!! LOLL
got to have fun where you can

!shit need to use lower case loll

So will you be writing "meep" on the side of you Lambo?

I'd drive a meep lambo.

Shit, I missed the MEEP.

Omg Clay you have meep!! I want meep! Can I still get my meep on?!!

It's pretty cheap right now :D

Gonna go look!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I just randomly recieved a free MEEP, Thanks if it was you <3


You have DRAMA!

To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

I had no clue about the MEEP account until I seen 1 MEEP in my Steem-Engine wallet. I think its a hilarious novelty account like a few others I have come across.

Price has mooned to $0.03 cents so you made a great investment or should I sum all this up by saying, "meep".

Meep!

Thanks for your meep token to me.

Posted using Partiko Android

I LOVE MEEP! You really did snatch up the market lol

I got a meep coin out of nowhere

Congratulations @clayboyn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 80000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 81000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

somebody can tell me what's the importance of those tokens? and what can I do with the MULA (Artzone) tokens that I got?

well I got a Meep token so now to find out what this is about other than meep then again that is enough.

I'm not sure how I ended up with a meep token in my wallet, I only recently came back to steem for Splinterlands.. I guess I am glad I got one?

Are the only ways to earn meep now, by exchanging for them?

All glory be to splinterlands I joined steem because of splinterlands and I too am blessed with a random meep.

Wow.. how in the world did you come across this comment of mine a whole year later lol

I do hope you've moved to HIVE by now @p1mpstat1on... since this post was done before the fork it is on both chains so I'm not sure which one you're actually using right now lol