Sort:  

Nope. Just whales in general. The rep only matters when they downvote you. All upvotes matter from anyone as long as their rep isn't negative. The effect of the upvote on reputation is proportional to the amount of SP behind the upvote.

For example, if I had 3,000,000 SP, an upvote from me (rep 54) would have a greater effect on your rep than an upvote from @papa-pepper (rep 77) with approx. 15k SP.

Hmmm...

I have, sadly, had the sense that I'm not getting as much "juice" lately. With occasional exceptions, when I write on certain "hot" topics. But I really have so many different things I want to / need to write about, I can't be worrying all the time about attracting powerful upvotes.

Guess I'm not very good at "gaming" the system. ;)

Hey, thanks again for the references and explanation. :D

On the flip side, a downvote from me would have no effect on your rep whatsoever, but a downvote from him would have a pretty big negative effect on it (based on his SP, not his rep).

You can see your actual reputation score on Steemd on the left hand side near the bottom.

Edit: Upvoting myself in the name of science.

Self-votes add to rep...which sucks.