You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Status: 100% Operational

in #steem6 years ago

I definitely agree with this, but I will point out that myself and many others were indeed spreading the word through a number of the servers where we're active. We do our best to make sure we can explain as clearly as we can wherever we can, while juggling the background stuff, but you're absolutely right that we can't reach every community or even most people as effectively as official channels.

Having compounding errors is one of those things that testing might miss, no matter how much is done — in this case, almost a month of running testnet, plus two simulated hardforks, and a week or so of quite a few witnesses running the new code on mainnet all managed to sneak by before the perfect storm of nodes and transactions hit to kick this all of. It definitely sucks, and goes to show we can basically never sleep... but I'm bolstered working on a chain designed to stop before it starts double spending or compromising wallets. If there's a community that you're in that you feel needs a liaison, please reach out to me on steem.chat or discord and I'm happy to add it to the places I roll through when I'm updating.