You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The witnesses are out to get me

in #steem5 years ago

HF21 is going to be a bad day for those who abuse bidbots, for people who only self-vote, for those who spam and those who plagerize. I just hope no one starts flag wars over disagreements of opinion.

I'm not sure about the 10% reserved for rewarding developers. If you are developing something that doesn't produce value on its own and is not attracting upvotes, why are we paying you?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

The 10% that witnesses get is not for development, it's for securing the chain. They need to be on call 24/7 in case some action needs to be taken. I think that a top witness gets about 30k USD per year which is peanuts compared to smiliar positions in the tech industry and of course they need to be able to read the code and test it.

Without them there is no blockchain, there are no posts and there are no rewards for everyone else. That is why they get paid. Ideally they should have the knowledge to propose changes to the code. It's not a prerequisite but it's definitely a plus (for example aggroed is not a developer). Our job as stakeholders is to vote for the witnesses that will run the code that represents our interests.

EDIT: I just realized that you might be refering to the SPS and not the witness pay. The SPS is not for developers it's for any proposal that could bring value to the network. Marketing, producing tutorials are examples of non-developer related projects that could be funded with the SPS.

I agree with the witness 10% I'm talking about the proposal to take another 10% and give it to developers working on proposals.

Posted using Partiko Android

My mistake.

The 10% that witnesses get is not for development, it's for securing the chain. T

It is a comment about the 10% for the SPS, I believe.

I just realized that..quietly I proceed to go to a corner in embarrassment.

HF21 is going to be a bad day for those who abuse bidbots, for people who only self-vote, for those who spam and those who plagerize.

fingers crossed.

I just hope no one starts flag wars over disagreements of opinion.

Unfortunately it happens now and will happen more (for a while at least) later but, it still has to be dealt with.

I'm not sure about the 10% reserved for rewarding developers. If you are developing something that doesn't produce value on its own and is not attracting upvotes, why are we paying you?

It is a strange area that I haven't touched on much but, if it funds decentralized development, some of those developments will pan out at least. It also gives a chance to those who can't "go it alone" to get some funding to try. Who knows what it will inspire.

As long SPS isn't a fixed and costant percentage I'm happy with it. It should be spent on a project by project basis up to 10%. We need constant referendums too so the budget isn't wasted. If no valuable projects are happening I'd like to see it go back to the rewards pool.

Posted using Partiko Android

Of course people are going to flag over differences of opinion it already happens.

People are also going to use the downvote pool to troll and harass as well.

I hope they actually curate, as well.

I'm ready, if someone downvotes me, I'll downvote them back! The rewards can go back into the common pool🐱

Curating is important, especially when you comment and give a meaningful upvote!

Posted using Partiko Android