You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Would Mass Adoption Make Steem More Equal?

in #steem5 years ago

The problem regarding Steem has nothing to do with charity and unequal distribution, most economies function perfectly fine with inequality. The begging for upvotes had to stop and HF20 for the most part solved that. Crypto prices are depressed and people keep comparing this platform to a year ago when they were not.
SMTs are comming soon which should help drive demand. Plenty of progress has been made with communities whose purpose is more than just to derive a quick buck. The recent price drop has helped me and many others to easily increase our stakes.
Look at it this way, my account with 2200 steem (most bought within last 30 days) has cost me less than an Xbox with some games would. A few nights of drinking could easily set one back more than that too, so can drug use, a quick vacation, a tailored suit and so much more. Yet the entertainment and investment value is potentially much greater with Steem.
There are issues with mistagging and low quality content but the community will police itself. But instead of begging for upvotes and asking us to curate plankton who haven't deposited a dime or their time , why don't we show everyone what value there can be in investing in Steem. Be it time or money.

Sort:  

Hey crypticat, thanks for your comment!

I think you might not entirely get what I was going for in that post, perhaps I just wasn't clear in my meaning. So, the idea was to encourage people with the thought that as whales sell some of their STEEM it does increase the size of the community, adds diversity and more equalized SP totals for the average account. So their 50 SP account or whatever it is has value, that's what I was getting at.

I'm not saying there will not be whales and I'm not saying they won't profit. I'm saying the whales will want lambos and this means selling STEEM to folks that don't have any. As for inequality being fine and dandy for a healthy economy, I absolutely cannot agree with that statement. Violent revolutions in history didn't happen for no reason, a common reason is financial disparity. For example, China and the communist regime. They literally have a card game called Attack Landlord because the land owners were oppressive.

I love the idea of free markets and control over my own money. I'm not a person seeking hand outs, however, inequality does not work. Inequality sustains for a while and looks like it works while nobody does anything about it, but inevitably it leads to somebody losing their head... Life is simple, when people don't design unfair systems they keep their heads, but if worse comes to worst, the masses reserve the right to take their heads. And that's what the poor and middle class call a top-down approach. ;)