You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey Steemit Inc and Witnesses, Please limit the Follow to 2 People/day!

in #steem6 years ago

You're right.
2 follow a day? That would absolutelly destroy steemit.

@tanishqyeverma
Im a human and I can only spent sundays on steemit. I read number of posts a day and im looking for interesting authors to follow. Your limitation would target people like me. Bots would be fine.

Sort:  

Yeah but that is averaged out over 4 and a half months. I followed many per day some days and weeks I didn't find any one. I agree with your sentiment, by I think maybe a weekly average or even a monthy average, depending on how we see new users behaving . It's already a really hard platform- lots of rules and new behaviors to learn- we want to be more inviting to newbs while they learn the ropes, and 2 is kind of hard lined. Following 3 or 4 or even 10 a day isn't spamming, its following 40 or 50 everyday . Before we start restricting people more in the name of a few, we need to really weigh it out. My least favorite part of society is how we start restricting each other to try and stop a few bad guys- I think it s is necessary but we need to allow for people whose behaviors are normal for them but a bit outside of the social norm. We ideally want all people who are just being themselves to be able to do that while curbing excessive parasitic behaviors by people who take advantage. Also, if people only got 2 a day, do you think they would find any authors outside of the trending pages? We would find ourselves accidently concentrating viewership even more I think... @tanishqyeverma it's a good idea. I am wondering what about getting follow/spammed bother you so much?

It won't destroy Steemit, it would help it growing past. We need bandwidth for the getting SMTs, follow is just one unworthy transaction which is wasting the network resources and if we could some stop that from happening the Steemit Network will be at advantage.

Maybe you are correct when you say there are people who just use Steemit on specific days and that would be a problem for them thou. I am just trying to put my little head to stop follow spamming on the network.