BUT WHAT TAG SHOULD I USE??

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Ahh... the question we've all asked ourselves at least once since joining this thing: "What tag should I use?!" Well steemers, I've created a resource that makes it quick and easy for you to identify ideal tags for your content. 

As an early Steemit user and social media analyst, my curiosity was buzzing over how to correctly position my posts so that they would be 1. be seen and 2. be beneficial to the correct users. In my professional world, I spend hours of my day carefully crafting paid media campaigns to reach their respective target audiences and I understand how important content positioning is on every platform. Usually I look to industry thought leaders for insight on other platforms but given that Steemit is in it's early years, there's not much out there to help anyone navigate the space (that's where I come in 😘).

I made this: a spreadsheet of all tags on steemit that ranks topics by number of posts, comments, or payouts. I'll keep the sheet updated daily and I've left the comment function on so you all can ask me things about the sheet or comment suggestions on what you'd like to have added. Add temporary filters so you can view the data your own way. Have fun with it! This is my gift to you, Steemers! And this is just the beginning. I want to build out a chart of best image specs for posts and add some historical data for trending tags by day. It's not going to be perfect right away but the most important part is that I got it STARTED and ON (virtual) PAPER!

It's one thing to come here and create awesome content, but its another thing to carefully deliver your content to the community where it'll be most appreciated. If you're throwing random tags onto your posts and just praying that it'll just work, don't be afraid to get a little strategic with it! Bringing your brain power here is nothing to be ashamed of - in fact I think it should be encouraged as it'll strengthen the Steemit community in the long run. 

What are some burning questions that YOU have about "succeeding" at steemit? Share with me in the comments and let's talk shop! I'd love to hear what's on your mind. If you have no idea why I did this and how it benefits anyone - be honest and let me know (kindly please). <3 

If you need help with the spreadsheet or see an error don't be afraid to poke me about it (I'm not perfect).

Love and light, 

-J