A brand new road.

in #steem7 years ago

My father and I had a favorite fishing spot when I was a kid. We literally had to get in a canoe, travel down a river for a mile, portage off the river 200 feet, then go another mile down the river.
When we finally arrived we would catch more fish than anywhere else. It was awesome! We would literally catch hundreds of fish a day. We loved it so much, we would never miss the chance to go, and eventually my dad bought property on the lake. There was litterally nobody for miles. It was viewed as useless land because there was no way to get there by road, so it was quite cheap.

Fast forward 10 years and the state built a brand new road into the lake. Houses popped up everywhere around the lake. My dads place went up in value 10 times! Sadly though it wasnt the same place as it was. To us it seemed ruined, with boats and people everywhere, and the fishing went way down.

I think this is a good analogy to this platform. We are way early here and things are pretty exciting. Soon there will be many new roads into Crypto. There will certainly be things that will happen here in the future that make us long for the good old days, but we will most likely be very compensated due to our early entrance.

If you like this post, please resteem it.

Thanks!

Sort:  

Excellent article.Time will show, but I think you're absolutely right. resteemed :)

@@ -69,16 +69,26 @@
moment !

  • 3 in once
    %0A%0A!%5B%5D(ht

Its great the value went 10 times higher but its sad the old place has changed. But those memories would never be changed :) We will also miss our old days of steemit in future

Nice post. Old days are always memorable. Thanks for sharing.

@davidp: As you might have known i also love fishing a lot, i really miss my grandpa :(

I have resteemed it :) Man, this is so deep, too deep for me... :D I can feel that nostalgia already, thx for opinion!!! :)

(pic source https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/over-simulated/201107/future-nostalgia-and-defensively-using-the-instant-moment)

@davidp thank you for sharing keep it up :)

Yeah, I get what you mean. I guess we will wait and see what happens. :)

i have never been fishing before with my dad but ive been mountain climbing with him. I guess its the quality time being spent together matters the most right?

Catching fish with my father in my uncle fish pond! I really miss that moment :(

i was thinking same thing, steemit might go down the hill, but we may never know, more people can bring more exciting things,
resteemed

Don't even know what's better. Good old fishing spot with a lot of memories or the new road. Well.. probably we just have to move forward.

Hey mate ,I know that feeling ,thats for sure . I remember times ,when next to my childshood house were very beautiful trees, but now there is flat , its always hurt to see ,your favorite spots are cut down. Very good article . Resteem 🙂

Good comparison! Steemit is still in beta, the crypto market is still in early expanding stages and there's no telling how high it might take us.

Eventhough there's new road, old days will be always memorable :)

It's great to hear how much fun you had at this place and I'm glad that your dads property when have by 10 times haha.
However, I guess all this urbanisation does take a toll on once prevalent beautiful places of nature.

This change is what makes our old days memorable. But feels bad when it gets ruined :d