I'm currently holding Steem PLUS these 9 cryptos..what about you?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

BiteMyCoin-Cryptocurrency.png

It's been a more erratic ride the last few days in crypto, and with my first year in crypto coming to a close, and my second month of Steemit underway, I thought I'd list what I'm currently holding, in addition to Steem.

I am not day trading anything, and have done only a couple of 2-day swing trades on LTC, but otherwise I am a long term HODLER. My current holdings are:

  1. BTC
  2. ETH
  3. LTC

I started with these and plan to continue holding.

  1. NEO
  2. GAS

NEO and GAS were my next additions, a few months ago.

  1. IOTA

I later added IOTA on the basis of it's possible use in so many projects in 2018.

  1. QSP
  2. RDN

QSP and RDN I took positions in after a number of conversations with people who know more than I do about their possible practical applications.

  1. BCC

I recently interviewed Bitcoin Cash's Roger Ver (Interview here: https://steemit.com/dtube/@davidpakman/zp9x9utr ) . Although I have no taken a broader position on BCC vs BTC or BCC vs LTC, its listing on Coinbase does suggest that it is here to stay and thus I have taken a position in it.

Are you worried about the current dip? Are you holding, trading, buying/selling? What are you looking at for 2018?

Sort:  

I hodl mainly steem and some XVG, cardano and SMART.
I mainly focus on steem as I expect great things to happen in the near future.

I'm still seeing that most people are clueless about how big EOS will be.

I was literally then about to comment about EOS haha

This, I just said the same thing in my last comment lol. Have a nice fat upvote.

Have a look at EOS and ADA David

I am so behind . I think as a teenager I’m ahead of most my age but . I’m mostly vested in steem. With a piece of BTC ETH and DASH . Oh and of course BCH from the August 1st Fork that just popped up on my Coinbase wallet! Steem On!

SBD is not designed to hold it is designed to be used. I recommend selling it, as it will likely return to $1 value as it is meant to be.

With that said here is what I am holding

BTC
ETH
STEEM
BCH
ICN
DICE
XRP
BAT
RDN
DATA

yes i'm not holding it long term, i just mean it is a crypto I am using regularly.

21% Steem Power
23% Bitconnect
56% Cryptocurrencies:

ETH
LTC
BTC
Tron
IOTA
Cardano
EOS
and a little of each in the top 50

I hold bitcoin litecoin ethereum stratis and some bitcoin cash from august 1 fork.

I’m into a more of holding investment strategy currently, as I believe we are still in the very early stages of blockchain technology, There might be a crash sometime in the future, but this I believe should not impact on the long-term success of blockchain tech, and cryptocurrency.

After the Internet bubble burst in the early 2000s, Internet companies still grew after the crash and became very successful e.g Amazon. I did not continue with my Internet business after the DOT.COM crash, but in hindsight, I wish I had.

I tend to do research on the company when deciding whether or not to buy their cryptos. I look at the utility of the coin, i.e is it a platform based offering like Ethererum, EOS or Cordano. I determine if there is a potential, that people will use the coin as a utility. If they can it's more likely it will grow its user base and grow in future value. I also look at the people behind the company offering the cryptocurrency. I look to see if they have a previous track record in project/product delivery and have a relevant industry background.

Also, I, look to see if the cryptocurrency improves on any of the technical shortcomings of the previous cryptocurrency offerings. The white papers are useful to research this information. All of these areas factor into my purchasing decisions and if I chose to invest long-term in that crypto currency

I am not a brilliant Crypto Analyst by any means. However, Here is what I am excited about:

STEEM
EOS
SMART
NXT

I've also collected some free CFUN tokens and this looks like it could be promising. But won't know until it launches.

Smaller Holdings:
VET
DOGE
GCR

The please don't kill me for cussing novelty holding:
FUCKToken

The I sent some Steem to buy, but I don't know what they are doing:
SportsPodium Pods

The First thing I bought that's probably a Facebook Scam:
PLEXCoin

That about covers everything. Few little odds and ends, but these are the only significant things I have in my bag at the moment.

Detailed reply, thanks for sharing!

Have you guys looked at Golem (GNT) or SONM (SNM), both computational currency, sounds promising

I will check those out!

Im hoping for prosperous 2018, more cryptos and higher value.

I think in 2018 ltc or Dashcoin rate is to much high like btc so, my sgettion you add it in one.Its eaisy for us or people.😊

Nice to see you have QSP on your list. POWR is another one that is worth taking a look at. I won't bother trying to sell it, but look into it and I think you'll like it.

QSP at 0.15 this morning...quite a bargain!

Will check that out!

Not bad. I have a few variations...AICoin is one I have quite a large stake in, and it sort of acts more like a stock, than a CC. XMR I've always liked; it will be around for it's privacy if nothing else. IOTA, EOS, and Cardano are a few I've aquired recently and Dash, Bytecoin, and Bitcoin Cash I've had for quite some time.

I have said, almost preached this for a good year...The Cryptocurrency Markets are not for the faint of heart. They are always volatile, but they always rebound, and when they do, they always level back out higher than before. Buying low and holding is a must In this market.

It will be interesting to see what 2018 brings, especially with the main stream now in the Crypto Markets. Personally, I liked things the way they were. We are getting bombarded with token after token and ICOs are coming out of the woodwork. Hopefully, once people realize they can't just create a coin or ICO and instantly become rich, some of this will slow down.

Great post, btw, it made for an interesting conversation:).

Helpful post.Thanks for sharing it
Upvoted and resteemed

David, I'm a long time member of the show. Look into BAT: Basic Attention Token. Its something that YouTubers (and creators in general) should be aware of. It could change the way content producers are compensated for their efforts.

Edit: I'll add what I hold.
BTC
ETH
LTC
ADA
IOTA
GridCoin <- this one helps science, which is cool

Atm, I'm holding only ETH. this is the coin I believe the most.

Interesting, why ETH?

He likes holding a coin that has high transaction fees because of crypto kitties LOL
A bunch of cute cats destroyed the future of finance!

Happy hodlidays! Not too worried...but then again I haven't invested a fortune. Too crazy!

Steem makes for an intriguing hold going into 2018. The anticipated launch of smart media tokens may spur further interest in the steem blockchain from the broader crypto community, but we'll see.

SBDs have outperformed steem in both USD and percentage terms in recent weeks - perhaps due to their limited supply relative to steem. I would like to see steem catch up with the rest of the market though - at its highs in the summer of 2016, one steem was equal to over 0.006 bitcoin. In today's market that would be over $80 per steem, so there is an evident under performance versus bitcoin.

Only STEEM so far, but I want them ALL!

Good choices I supposed, for me , I currently hold BTC, ETH and LTC

I feel like things will be quiet until 2018, then we'll see lots of action, it's gonna be a roller coaster for sure!

How many people think BCH might catch up to BTC? Not to replace, but almost be neck to neck in 2018, coexisting and pushing each to offer better solutions?

Le that barang go apa

Holding similar with also OmiseGo. I feel like OmiseGo will be a really good long term hold :)
Merry Christmas everyone :)

BCH, EOS, Steem, XRP, ADA

If you are a fan of steemit then you might want to take a solid look at EOS. The same developer who made steemit is working on EOS right now.

The same developer? That's interesting. Has EOS been integrated into any other platform the way STEEM has?

success for you @ davidpakman, your choice is great for going to Dean's time. nice to read it. good post.

I am currently holding my ID and a note that reads "Binance 24.12.17" ;)

I'm holding ETH, BCH, LTC, XRP and STEEM.

Bitcoin Cash has the potential to challenge BTC for the top crypto so good choice. Been watching BCC regain most of its losses from last downturn and now above 0.2 to a BTC it looks prime for more gains.

I’m still holding bitcoin, but thinking of flipping to alt coins as most of the top alt coins are performing better than bitcoin lately. Is it still a good idea to hold bitcoin?

What is your thoughts on XVG Verge?

I'm holding quite a few, but my biggest by value right now is as follows:

ARK
BTC
ETH
LTC
BCH

Ark has been very good to me. One of the few ICOs I went for because I believed in what they were doing and there strategy of just knocking out their goals instead of spending a lot on advertising. They've only now hired a PR firm and it's done lovely things for their price, but I already recouped over ten x what I paid for it- now just letting it sit and earn me more ARK.

Ones I wish I have some but will be buying more as I can:

EOS
XRP

And I desperately need to get into DASH! That one took me totally by surprise, but the more I look into it the more I love what they are doing. I think they are going to be in it for the long haul.

Good post

That's a good post, keep it up! Go through our blog and see the new content :D

Spamming comments is frowned upon by the community.

Comment spam is currently defined by @steemcleaners as:

  • 10 or more generic comments per day that are not in response to a question posed by the post or comment. “Thanks”, “Great Post!”, “Great Photo!”, “Good”, “Like”, “Nice”, “Wow”, “Cute”, “Follow me”, etc.

  • Commenting on old posts to hide self up-votes or a voting trail.

  • Copy/Paste comments that serve no purpose or the purpose is self promotion (including copying and pasting similar comments in rotating way).

  • Comments that inform the contributor that they have been up upvoted, resteemed, or flagged when the curator does not actually upvote, resteem, or flag the post.

  • Unsolicited and off topic referral links.

Continued comment spamming may result in action from the cheetah bot.

More Info: Abuse Guide - 2017.

BTC
BCH
LTC
ETH
IOTA
XRP
NEO
ZEC
DASH
FUN

My strategy is different and it has worked for me so far. I look at the developers and their intentions, or if there are economic incentives that should cause the developers to do the right thing. So from that point of view I see it as an investment in a project that aligns with what I want to see and not so much as a way to make money. And I am a software engineer (for over 20 years) so I look at things from that perspective.

My current top pick is Komodo. And again, the coin has a lot or properties from several other cryptocurrencies, in fact it is a fork of ZCash source, but the developers are working on BarterDEX (there is a beta available), an open source decentralized exchange (DEX) which uses atomic swaps unlike bisq. They are also planning on having fiat pegs as well, which will provide a means by which their DEX can exchange fiat currencies. In particular I like the developer jl777, I've talked with him in the past and he had done some interesting experiments that improved Bitcoin network performance.

Out of the DAG cryptocurrencies, I pick RaiBlocks (though I don't hold any because they are not widely available). It is currently decentralized, while IOTA (with Curators) and ByteBall (with Witnesses) are not really decentralized and it is not clear if they even can be decentralized, even though the developers intend them to be. It may come to pass that the only way they can become decentralized is by integrating blockchains into them, but the developers and their community are constantly attacking blockchain based cryptocurrencies, so it seems to me they are inadvertently limiting themselves. This is also why it is important for developers to focus on making a better cryptocurrency and not focus on talking crap about the technology of competitors. But again, decentralization may not be as important to the rest of the market.

I would also like to add, I don't like developers who troll on twitter all day. Or spend their days trying to manipulate and/or censor communities.

The two that I pick regarding economic incentive are ZCash and Dash. Being paid through the blockchain means they will want their blockchain to be as valuable as it can be. The developers end up with a stake in the game. But in addition to that I pick ZCash because their development team is focused on zero knowledge proofs for privacy. Dash because they have ambition plans in regard to savings accounts, they incentivize people to run nodes which have a number of good features.

There was a point that I liked Litecoin for being different, but today I have not seen anything significant from them and if I want to support the development of the Lightning Network, I will just hold the Bitcoins I currently have. Plus there is now Bitcoin Cash which has a lot more momentum in regard to support, and which I (and a lot of other people) already have a lot of after the fork. Nothing wrong with holding Litecoin but I just don't see reason to trade for it.

I think Vitalik Buterin is great, but I consider him and his colleagues to be more on the computer science side (Academic) and not on the engineering side. And I think it shows in the fact that there has been major bugs in things built on their platform that could have been avoided by having built in security in their VM. I kind of lose faith in them when the narrative is that people who are developing on their platform are simply bad engineers and not that the platform can be improved to make things safer. They may not be bad engineers, they could also just be scammers who intentional put a flaw in their code so that ether could be stolen, in which case the platform itself should make it harder for that to occur, make it easier for third parties to audit.

This is a good comment- I like your approach. It's similar to mine for picking long term bets to invest in. Commenting now so i can come back to it later!