You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Definition of a Whale and a whale-like group and the Math Behind

in #steem7 years ago

finally see some stats re this experiment! does it mean that your clients are giving out more money without earning as much? :) the latter part is my guess - as you cannot expect many big votes to come (even if they do, they come with a curse! lol). and, yes, I think spreading more votes is a correct strategy. :)

Sort:  

Yeah, they're certainly giving out more money. Probably at least 3 times as much. It's hard to say anything about earning more or less money at this point. There are so many moving parts, and the revenue has never been constant. It depends on my vote stalkers, Curie's policies, my vote weights, the current accuracy of my bot's model. My revenue hasn't been stellar in the past 2 days, but my bot also hasn't yet learned that the world has changed. If the "experiment" runs long enough, it will be interesting to see how my bot adapts to it.

thanks for reply. actually I am more curious about how the 7-day window is gonna affect curating strategies... while the experiment is temporary, this change has been confirmed (though HF date postponed to Mar 21). your thoughts?

Yeah, it's going to be interesting. I think 7 days is going to make curation slightly more difficult. Really, just automated curation. Manual curation will be what it always has been.

Any adaptive automated curation system like mine will now have to wait much longer for feedback. Right now, my bot checks each post 2 days after it was posted, records its payout, and learns from it. Once HF17 goes into effect, it will have to wait 7 days to see the final payout. The nice thing is that most votes will probably still come in fairly early in a post's lifetime, so I'll be able to partially learn something at the 1 or 2 day mark anyway, and then update it once the post finally pays out at 7.

I don't think current witnesses will let the 7-day change pass as is.
@biophil

that's interesting to know. thanks!