You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rise Steemit

in #steem8 years ago

Yes, I'm complaining about it. I've written about the attention economy before. I won't advertise my post by linking it directly, but you can find it if you want. The key is that the sender of an unsolicited message does not know how the recipient values his attention. Having a message in my wallet where I go to view other information consumes my limited attention* without my consent. Only the recipient can decide on the price of their attention, and the sender can then accept it or not. Otherwise we have free reign to spam each other with ads endlessly, an internet version of Shibuya Square, and we have to lock ourselves down to whitelists and adblocks to avoid it.

*I happen to have ADHD, but everyone's attention is limited, mine is just more limited than normal