You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why is STEEM being held hostage on the Binance exchange?

in #steem6 years ago

My guess is that Binance experienced a technical issue that prompted them to disabled Steem withdrawals.

I don't have personal experience with Binance here but I read in a post by @kirkins that Binance disabled deposits and withdrawals after the blockchain stall at block 23,847,548. From my understanding, there was a bug in the Steem protocol implementation that allowed an invalid transaction to be included. A week later, the invalid transaction triggered a network halt as it resulted in an invalid operation.

16 days does seem excessive for Binance to respond to this issue, which was patched shortly after it occurred. I am not sure whether Binance runs the type of node which would need to update its version to move past the halt... anyone know?

Sort:  

Thanks for stopping by and answering my call. Now I know the root cause, but what remains a mystery is why it is taking so long to get the node back up and running.

The response from another member below, socky, goes into even more detail.

FYI - Binance has lifted the STEEM withdrawal suspension.