You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Dollar Economics

in #steem7 years ago

Your post is a good economic explanation. I do not really see it as a pro or con argument in the current debate. Personally, I think we need to focus on growing STEEM now. As much as I liked SP, I think it failed in this context, while SBD has been something of a distraction. Short term, if you want to scrap SBD, go ahead, because the demand and volume aren't there to utilize it yet.

Longer term, I know that a price stable cryptocurrency is a dream for you and for many people. I can only guess that, if SBD is taken off the boards for now, you will bring back a price stable currency model at some point. And I'm sure you have learned more this time about what works well and what might be improved in that model. Longer term, a price stable currency has an important role. BitUSD, SBD, ? Maybe the third time will be the charm. For now, let's go full STEEM ahead and take down Bitcoin.

Sort:  

@ats-david made some good points for keeping the SBD in his post today. What are your thoughts about keeping the SBD so merchants have an easy way to price items? Businesses that want to accept payments SBDs need a reliable way to price their goods and services and having SBD pegged to the dollar makes this easy to implement and simplifies bookkeeping.

Steem is a real currency now. I don't have any problem with keeping SBD if that's what people want, but I don't see the demand to justify it right now. There are some costs in terms of maintaining it and making conversions; I think we could do without this distraction as we build around Steem.

The ideal of a price stable cryptocurrency (BitUSD, NuBits, Tether, SBD) came in response to Bitcoin's volatility, but that has calmed down over time as people have used it more. I think we can take on Bitcoin with Steem if we keep building this ecosystem. SP and SBD are not really needed at the moment, but even if they were scrapped or sidelined for the time being, they could be brought back into the system later if there is a need for what they offer. If the community wants to keep SBD, then I'm fine with that; I don't see it as a big deal either way.

I like the SBD and it makes it easier to explain Steemit to my friends that are not familiar with cryptocurrencies.
I don't think I fully understand why there's even a discussion about scrapping it. Can you point me in a direction that could clarify why it's even a topic of discussion right now?