You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cry of the soul, quality content, or how we are turned into slaves.

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

These thoughts spun in my head for a long time, but I decided to write a post after you appeared in my comments. I came to you, read posts and saw how under one of the posts you are arguing with @catrindemau
This was the last drop, I could not stand it and burst out like, a ruptured dam, a waterfall. Two good people quarrel against each other, because they have been pitted against each other by those who want to rob them both!

P.S. Thank you for the gift =)

Sort:  

No problem, your post deserved more but it was what I had available at the time. The bots.... I'm pretty much done with them as the bot owners keep tweaking them to where they are rarely profitable. @Catrindemau summarized the bots best in her comments above.

I appreciated you sharing and enjoyed reading your life summary the other day and was definitely looking forward to your six month steemit summary as I knew it would be good. I just didn't realize how good it would be. That was one of the most extensive, thorough, well thought out, and most honest reviews that I have ever read. I, for one, definitely appreciated how open, candid, and honest your review was and I trust the other members of this community do/did as well.

I too have had mixed feelings in regards to the steemit platform and have wondered sometimes about it's long term viability (see my comments in one of my early blogs pasted in below).
https://steemit.com/travel/@naegling11/pre-cruise-site-seeing-tour-of-the-city-of-galveston-texas
This blog earned me no money, not even a penny, outside of my own self upvotes which as you well know is frowned upon by the steemit community, but I was somewhat frustrated at the time.

I think that @robert-call brought up a very valid point in that the steem platform is still in the very early stages of it's evolution and that one needs to give it time to grow and evolve. Will it become the next facebook or youtube, I don't know, one can only hope. If it does, being an early adopter should work in one's favor. In regards to the decline in value of our SBD's, steem, and steem power, I believe that a lot of that is just due to the pullback in the crypto sector in general and should rebound after this consolidation period in crypto's ends. There are some indications that "big money" is starting to move into the crypto sector which is a very positive indicator moving forward.

I also think that it is very important that as one grows into a dolphin or a whale (ha, hope that happens, I currently consider myself a tadpole) that you take care of the minnows in the community. I understand the flag concept, but agree with you completely in that the flags, if not used very judiciously, can cause a lot more harm than good as you so well know.

On a separate note, since I started blogging a couple of months ago, I have started to develop some budding friendships. What I find unique to steemit, as compared to say facebook, is that these friendships or acquaintances or however one prefers to refer to them as, are from people from around the world which adds a whole new set of dimensions to the friendship. Say for example you and Kat, how random is the fact that we met and are even having this conversation (on a side note it surprised and warmed my heart when Kat referred to me as mutual friend). I really enjoy reading both of your blogs and learning what life is like in your country i.e. your jobs, life experiences, the police, and sort of getting to know you. I actually find your blogs very unique in your translation of your language into English. Sometimes it's funny but most of the time I find it poetic in nature. At first I thought you were both writing that way on purpose but then I realized that you are just trying to find the appropriate English translation regarding what you are trying to say. Like that time a person commented "I really like the phrase ''visited by the idea''" and you responded "It's all my awful English is guilty, I just could not find a better expression" and then you further translated "Well, the closest - "a new idea came and knocked at my head"" I really enjoyed reading that as I found it funny, cute, and poetic all at the same time.

Well, I think that I have rambled on long enough. I hope that Steemit passes the test. I would be deeply saddened if you and catrindemau disappear from Steemit back into Ukraine.

Our story with Kat has been going on for more than 4 years, we are best friends, almost like sisters, so if you met her, then acquaintance with me was just a matter of time. This is a long and not always simple story, maybe we'll ever talk about it =)

I believe that the prospect for a long life, this platform has only this:

  1. Due to plunder the people who invest money in the project (ie, buying STEEM, SBD STEEM POWER), and not receiving any return for it.
  2. The second option (for me it is more pleasant) - is the maintenance of life by bringing in an outside investor who will invest money without expecting a direct financial return, for example, advertisers that will pay real money for placement of their advertising banners (by the principle, which now operates youtube). In this case, the author of the post should have the right to refuse to display an advertising banner under (or above) his post, but in this case, payment for his post should be significantly reduced. The matter is that money can not appear on an equal place simply so from nowhere. To make them appear, someone must pay. It is better to let those who will do it with pleasure and at the same time, achieve their goals (attracting new customers) than simply rob people.
    I even guess who will be the main customer of advertising here: various crypto-currency exchanges and other crypto-currency services.

I'd just like to say your post was accurate and summed up alot how I feel. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it as well. I missed the payout so now I can't resteem but I would if it let me. When I think about Steemit I think that almost no one can blog and make a living from it. Steemit doesn't solve that problem but it rewards people a little as compensation. Like all things in the world you need money to make money, or be extremely lucky. Most people are not rich or this lucky but compared to other options Steemit is still better. Many people, me included, expect to earn lot's of money from Steemit when joining but it's not possible for people to do this as if everyone makes big money there wouldn't be enough to give out. So Steemit is no different to real life, only the rich whales make big money and the regular people make penny's but when you think about it this is the case for everything.

You are absolutely right, even nothing to add