Obligatory Post on the Price and Community of Steem

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Time to wax poetic on all the predicatble points to be made from hodlers of Steem and lovers of the community.

I probably will not be saying much different than what you have already seen on your feed.

I will admit, this probably is not anything different from what you have already came across (if you are not already off the platform). Really I am just preaching to the choir at this point.

fmvj8pqW2kqUnJXfy86o16HvjiYMUl-NgCLCEO07ls4.jpg

But there is a lot here to hold dear and cherish and I wanted a brief moment to go over what it means to me.

We have all witnessed the activity of the Steem blockchain and it's tie to the price. It is is pretty easy to see and understand. When price is higher the ability to earn increases.

Or does it?

The ability to earn MORE FIAT is indeed true, but not necessarily to EARN MORE STEEM.

Bear market, correction, chasing the price of nothing, whatever you want to call it. Fact is this is not anything the crypto community has not already seen if they have been involved for any decent amount of time.

For those involved in this community it may be some people's first go on a bear market.

Really it comes down to this:

Are you here for the community or the fiat?

So what happens when the price goes down?

  • Less people use the platform
  • Less people put effort into content creation
  • Less people seeing the benefit of cashing out (unless they are done with the platform or are giving up)
  • People that believe in the platform are buying other's influence for rock bottom prices.

Look at your rewards from 6 or 7 months ago. You may have made MORE IN FIAT but the likelihood is you WORKED HARDER for SP than you do now.

Now you just want to throw away that influence to others? For such a cheap price?

Seems backwards to me but I have never been accused of being a person that only worried about the numbers and income and strategy to maximize the benefit TO ME. So perhaps you can understand why I have a hard time putting priority to my wallet over the support for others. I did not sell at $7 why would I now?

Where we are at:

  • Those vested in Steem are still utilizing their vote power to earn curation
  • Of those that do not use their vote power it makes it so more of the reward pool is decided by the people that are
  • If less people are using the platform they have less options to upvote others
  • Just creating content in an environment like this proves your commitment to the platform
  • Your actions now will be remembered.
  • Those that care about the platform are more likely to support you in a time like this and when times get better
  • You are either going to be remembered for focusing on yourself or be remembered for your focus on the community.

Chances are if you read to this point we already know where you stand. Thank you for continually being part of this awesome community.

DQmVLoBVmjhCG5dgCc3wgeF6h3kDmU9FxVahWHZgeydoWBu.png

Sort:  

These are some tough days for #STEEM indeed, lots of mixed emotions as well as well as change around every corner. Lots of folks in the crypto space are either throwing their hands in the air or are double downing, parallel to that crypto development is either stagnant or increasing workload. The projects remaining true to the ideology of decentralized assets are tanking while the centralized bank coins (XRP) are stealing the spotlight. But there is nothing new under the sun.

It's great to see you helping put things into perspective and taking each step to achieve your goals. As for myself, I'm struggling to know where I stand. My activity on this platform has decreased since I started focusing more on my education, but I still believe that #STEEM is a top 5 asset and the development around it validates the claim. But I can totally see how many Steemians (like my wife) have dropped out of the network due to the market and whatever other factors, but I decided to stay and hopefully contribute in whatever ways I can. Unfortunately streaming is out of the equation since my graphics card died, but I'm in the process of working towards a replacement and then get back on the grind. It's great seein' you maintain a steady output of streams though (even though I choose not to watch RDR2 because of spoilers) and I commend you for that. Keep up the good work @ericwilson!

Thank you, @joeohs for your resteem, thoughtful words, unending support and your recent gift!

Yeah, we are in the thick of things for spoilers and we had a huge moment on stream last night. I will fight this addiction and find something else to play (currently at about 72% of the story). This game is really awesome and I have been enjoying the hell out of it (hence my 24 hours of streaming it over the last 3 nights).

That is too bad about your graphics card hopefully we can get you up and running asap.

Don't mention it bud, I've been thinking about where to place that for weeks since I've got my hands busy with too many things, so rather than just let it sit there doing just about nothin', why not boost eric?
RDR2 is on a hefty wishlist for my wife and I at the moment, so both of us are trying to stay as far away from spoilers as possible while we handle IRL things. One of those things is trying to get our hands on a new GPU, but the most important thing at the moment is getting ready to move into a new house within the next 2 weeks, so needless to say, our pockets are dusty lol, AND YET I REFUSE TO POWER DOWN MWAHAHAA!... ahem... anyways, yea I know you will make the most of it on your road to "Dolphin" and of course I'll be keepin' up with your posts and streams man

Well it certainly means a lot to me, more than just the "value" of it. That support and encouragement means more than I can explain, honestly.

Congrats on moving, I hope it goes well! Big move or local move?

Local, actually moving back into the house we came from, but not a bad thing by any means. Everything happens for a reason imo.

those with the fortitude to keep consistently producing good content, engaging and building community are really going to enjoy the sweet flavour of being able to use STEEM earned at a low rate when the price goes up.. and it will.

@shadowspub
The current Rambling Radio Schedule can be found here
It's All About Community!

Hi @ericwilson!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.291 which ranks you at #2573 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 229 contributions, your post is ranked at #110.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server