Vitalik unveils STEEM killer ?!

in #steem8 years ago

Better hurry up fellas STEEM 2.0 better get here quick!

Shoot the messenger if you want, but I think that we should all be aware of the stiff competition in this space.

https://bitcoinmagazine.com/articles/akasha-project-unveils-decentralized-social-media-network-based-on-ethereum-and-ipfs-1462551273

http://akasha.world/

Sort:  

Gotta put something out there to raise interest so he can sell another 25%, right? STEEM is already far ahead. We've seen how long everything takes in ETH land.

As mentioned in the previous thread on Akasha, it's named after "The Queen of the Damned" and their logo is 666. Therefore, I think it will draw a lot of attention from today's yutes. ;) But that first-mover advantage Steem has as well as the "get paid to post" format is going to be hard to overcome.

I'm sure it will be the darling of the Etherheads when it's released late this year, but will likely meet the same fate as Qora's social media platform. If you have a pay-to-post vs. get paid-to-post platform, I think common sense will take over. Dan, or someone, also mentioned how much it would bog down Ethereum in it's current state (running on 1990's tech).

Full Steem ahead!

Akasha is an ancient Hindu concept. Not a Hollywood contrivance. Look up Akashik Records and you will find out why it is the namesake.

Yes, it is. I read all of that first. Then I noticed all of the occult symbology as well. I doubt very seriously they were not aware of these facts when naming their product and choosing a logo. If they were unaware then they are incompetent, and I do not think that is the case. ;)

It is very wise on their part, from a marketing perspective, to incorporate these occult symbols especially on a product directed at a younger generation. Having a good cover story for why it's not occultic is a bonus. ;)

I don't think people pay fees to upvote/downvote

Yeah I doubt that as well, but I believe I read that you will have to "pay-to-post" (pay a fee). I'm not 100% sure though and honestly I don't care at this point. I'm happy with Steem and it's direction and doubt I'll mess around with Eth's version of social media when it's released.

It's gonna cost too much to run on Ethereum and they haven't seemed to figure how who's gonna pay for it.