GASP!! Subscription Regrets - Lauren Southern, get off my feed, actually.

in #steem7 years ago

Lauren Southern made a great video about cryptocurrency. And I loved it. But now I'm discovering the rest of her videos, and realizing, with shame, that she's absolutely no one I'd like to support. Yes, it's that dreaded moment when you realize you are following someone you could actually hate in real life. Someone who basically stands for everything you are against.

I saw that video and my first thought was, "wow, a learned chick talking about crypto!" In it, she posted a bunch of photos of my Prime Minister, coupled with evil eyes, and lizard-grabby money hands and everything else you would attach to a capitalist leader of a developed country. So I obviously assumed this blondie was from my country. And I was right. So yay for me.

But I also wrongly assumed that because she seemed to espouse a lot of the ideas I do -apparently, only in this video, I probably agreed with her on many levels, right? Wrong. Could not have been more wrong, ever in my life.

Yesterday, I decided to follow her...

I promptly got on my twitter, and praised her for her great video. A tweet she liked. I went on to Facebook, to follow her there, too. I hadn't actually spent the time to check out her older videos. I was busy, and I figured I could just binge on them at a later time.

I even shared her video to my wall, for my friends to see, to help them understand this crazy world of cryptocurrency.

And then I looked up through her Facebook page

I saw a presentation where she had been protested. Cal Poly wanted nothing to do with her. they wanted her off their campus, Just like someone else she has defended in the past... Yep, Milo Yannopolis.

So I read about how Lauren is:

  • buddy buds with Milo, holding hands as sweethearts of Breitbart's hate speech
  • believes in the alt-right (read: pretty much white rights) movement
  • believes women should go back to traditionalism: staying in the kitchen and raising their not-enough children
  • is supported by Breitbart News
  • does NOT believe in rape culture in the West (this was my most what-the-fuck moment)
  • is a super Christian (sorry, dudes, but I just can't with that religion business. Good for you, though. keep on cruisin'.)
  • against taking in refugees (wow, no shit...) - This basic-as-fuck bitch actually PHYSICALLY GOT ON A BOAT TO STOP SICILY FROM HELPING MIGRANTS.
  • Apparently supports Ann Coulter, some other racist white cunt (and yeah, I reserve that word for the worst of the worst) - for reference, we didn't even let Ann Coulter speak in Canada, because OBVIOUSLY HATEFUL.
  • supports America getting MORE GUNS.

So today, I'm erasing Lauren Southern from my world

In my world, people like this don't even exist and don't deserve any attention, good or bad. And so, I will never mention her name again, she will not be on any of my following lists, I won't even say a bad thing abotu her because as far as I'm concerned, once I hit the post button right here... She doesn't exist. I even refuse to link her anywhere on this post.

Fuck you and your stupid ass views, you're Canada's Tomi Lahren and Ann coulter put together. I am so ashamed you're a part of my country.
Have fun scissoring Kellie Leitch and suck my dick.

Thanks for letting me redirect my anger over a horrible decision.

Now let's get to unfollowing. (You're also welcome to unfollow me if you're offended by my disagreement with her views.)

Sort:  

I have managed to avoid following any seriously dodgy accounts, but that may be due to the fact that having been online for close to a quarter of a century, I have developed a fairly good intuition about that kind of thing.

I have lately started actually muting people I take serious objections to, so that I do not even see them in the new feed, or when they comment (so far, I have done this with people that espouse views that I find extremely harmful to humanity, such as the antivaxxers)

I think that's why I'm so disappointed in myself: because I have been online for 20 years and I should know better!! IRC taught me enough of that, haha.

And yeah... I have anti-vaxxer friends and family. I choose to stay silent because I'm not a prent, so I really don't know which way I would side, being responsible for a little soul. So far, I just let them say what they want, make their own decisions and yes, mute them. :O

I have tried arguing with antivaxxers (being a parent, it is something I feel strongly about), but I find that it is a waste of time, generally any arguments get countered by accusing me of being paid by big pharma....

So, now I just mute

So happy you wrote this! I saw her video and was so into it, but some of her comments made me raise my eyebrow. Then, a little look on her page and I realized holy crap this chick is part of the nazi cough, I mean...alt-right movement. No thanks!

Yeah!! At first I was like, "okay, maybe we don't agree on some things" and then it became painstakingly clear I wanted nothing to do with this clown. Sigh. And here I was, hopeful, about another smart woman in the sphere. She is smart, in her own right. Just not my kind of right.

the only reason you dont agree with lauren is that you have been taught that it is a sin to stick up for your race or country.if you are a citizen of a country its not racist to be against immigrants coming in .its to do with nimbers and what it will do to your country in the future.dont think the goverments going to pay for all of these people.no they wouldnt bring them in if thats the case.no its you the tax payer that will be paying .this is a well thought out plan by the globalists to give them more money and power and also to make it easier to conquer these immigrants countries.the globalists dont give a dam about anybody or anything .they are destroying the planet.they are psychopaths.if you want to listen to the medias lies thats your choice.

Congratulations @erratik! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!