You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Would Mass Adoption Make Steem More Equal?

in #steem5 years ago

Hi @hobo.media, I was invited by @crypto.piotr to read your post and if I could give my opinion on the issue you have explained here. I have to admit though that I am ignorant on Steem economy or anything related to cryptocurrency and blockchain. I have been on Steemit since January last year, and never did once I have earned cash from it. I have invested probably not more than $150 Australian dollars in total, because I am one of those

people that often think twice about buying into anything online in the $50+ range.

I could only invest that I would not regret losing. I believe I'd be foolish if I buy worth $200+ just to increase my SP, but I don't mind losing $20-$50 every now and then to increase my SP. But I think it makes sense that for the value of Steem to increase, people should be willing to invest, and not just to expect instant earning. But I agree that

it can be rather difficult in many other places in the world.

For me, there's really no reward for me 'financially' to be active on Steemit, but what I gain is more knowledge when I read posts from people all over the world and when I interact with them. So I guess, just to add a little bit of SP maybe once a month won't hurt me, because at least, I am able to contribute even for $0.007 when I upvote their posts and comments, anyway, there are whales out there that can help people like us through their upvotes.

I know it sounds selfish of me to think that way, but I also have bills to pay and I can't just spend my money to increase my SP exponentially when I also have doubts about whether there is future in Steemit. I hope I do make sense in this comment and I am able to relate it to your post, @hobo.media. Thank you for your great and well-detailed article, by the way!

Sort:  

Hey evlach, thanks for your comment. I think it is great to just do something like $50. Honestly, to me, the Steem ecosystem would be so much better if it had a lot of people with just $50 in SP. This is even distribution and encourages an ecosystem where everyone is able to contribute $0.10 to content creators they enjoy.

As an aside, I think it is great that you're into Steem even though you don't take much interest in cryptocurrencies. That is exactly what Steem needs to do, attract people of all different kinds of interest.

Thanks so much for your post!

I will never take interest in cryptocurrencies, as long as I know how to convert dollars to bitcoin then convert it to Steem Power, I'm happy. I just hope that Steemit will never shut down because I don't want to lose all my posts. It's all I'm worried about.

Thank you for your reply.

Blessings,
evlachsblog

Even if Steemit did shut down, people running full nodes would have copies of the blockchain, and all posts are stored on the blockchain. So your posts should definitely be save on Steem. :)

Oh, that's good to know. Thanks, @hobo.media.

What an amazing comment @evlachsblog. I totally appreciate your time and effort.

Thank you, @crypto.piotr, for your memo, and for your kind words. :-)