You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Still in Defense of a High SBD: Why Witnesses Should not Implement Steem to SBD Conversions Now-

in #steem6 years ago

I guess I find myself in the PRO 1SBD = 1 USD camp. I see a lot of the arguments here based on the assumption that we now have momentum going on and Steem is rapidly growing at the moment. Of course, if that's the case that is something valuable and precious and we shouldn't risk losing that.

However, in my perception he adoption we are seeing at the moment is still very very small. Steem has so much potential, these 50K active bloggers will soon become millions. Yet, the difference between numbers of signups and active bloggers (retention rate) is really way too big. More people are quitting than staying. I don't want to sound negative, but maybe the discussion about retention and growing of the Steem community should be more focused on eliminating adoption roadblocks instead of preserving possible adoption facilitators.

A big roadblock is usability and ease-of-use. I would argue that a 1 SBD = 1 USD makes Steem substantially easier to understand.