You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WTF is dMania?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

That's such an awesome niche for Steem and what a funny url with the lol ending. :D

Is the website open source and if not do you plan to make it so? We could support dMania then sponsored by Utopian. That would be awesome!

I have just posted my first self-made meme via the platform but it doesn't appear in my profile there. Did I do anything wrong?

Sort:  

dMania is not open source atm. I am still not sure if I want to make it open source. I have to think about it.
I know there would be a lot of benefits when I open source it, but it kinda feels like giving my baby up for adoption 😆

If you edit your post on Steemit, it becomes a Steemit post. Steemit posts aren't visible on dMania.

If you edit your post on Steemit, it becomes a Steemit post. Steemit posts aren't visible on dMania.
Why? When I edit my Steepshot, Utopian or DTube post they don't become Steemit posts either. And I assume I still have to pay beneficiary rewards to dMania. So it is kind of rubbing me from what I have signed on to the moment I created the post.

If Steemit posts where visible on dMania, people could avoid paying beneficiaries like everyone else. They could create posts without pictures which would cause problems.
You can edit your title and tags on dMania, but you can't add a description. The first author comment is always sticky at the top and replaces more or less a description.

I don't see any reason why dMania should show posts from other apps. Apps on Steem should be more separated in my opinion.

I never said dMania should show posts from any other platform. That would be just wrong.

But why does dMania kicks out posts posted on dMania, which are inevetible logged in the dmania beneficiary rewards system but are not even displayed on dMania any more?

DTube, Utopian and Steepshot do allow a manual edit after the release and don't exclude the post if it was properly posted via their platforms.

They probably also show posts from Steemit when you tag them with dtube, utopian, steepshot as category. I don't know any way around that.

Steemit changes the app in the metadata if you edit the post. That isn't my fault.

No, they don't show other posts no matter what tags they use. That would be a catastrophe if that would be the case since we get hundreds of Utopian-io tags from Steemit posts every day but luckily we don't have to deal with them because they were not submitted via the platform. And vice versa they don't drop out of their platforms either when edited on Steemit either.

I am not a developer so I have no clue what you have to change but I am 100% certain that it is possible since it works there. :)

Ok I changed it and you can now edit your dMania posts on Steemit. You were probably right, it was too restrictive and other users had the same problem.
Your post is now visible on your dMania profile again.