Steem Investor Guide: How To Make Money With Steem Power

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

power-up-cover.png

Dear Steem investors, welcome to the Steem blockchain. We are 44 thousand active Steemians who post regularly valuable (and not so valuable content) to this marvelous ecosystem. This entire system depends on the voting power of all Steem holders. However, if you just let your Steem sit on an exchange or as liquid Steem in your Steem wallet then you will not be able to reap the fruits of your investment. This article will show you what to do with your Steem to get the greatest rewards for your money.

Power Up Your Steem



power-up.jpg

Steem is no simple pump and dump coin. Steem is the biggest social experiment in the history of mankind! It is an opportunity hub that connects people and creates financial stability for its participants and their projects. With the Steem Power that comes from vesting your liquid Steem for at least 13 weeks into the ecosystem thousands of peoples lifes will be changed and you can earn incredible returns for your investment. You will never loose any of Steem Power when you interact with the Steem blockchain mechanics. You will only make more.

To do so send your Steem to your Steemit account. If you haven't created one yet it will take a few days via Steemit or pay 6 Steem for it and get it immediately. Just use the withdraw function of your exchange and enter the name of your account. When it arrives you can go to your wallet and click on your Steem. A dropdown will reveal the Power Up function. You will need your Steemit password or your private Active key which you will find in your wallet under permissions.

1) Curation Rewards



upvote.jpg

The first big way to earn Steem for investors is by simply upvoting articles on Steemit, Busy, ChainBB, DTube, Utopian, dMania and many more. These are all websites that access the Steem blockchain in a different way. Check them out, they are all great. Find the content you like and upvote it. You will find a voting slider that allows you to control the upvote weight. 100% will be the biggest vote you can make which creates a Steem Dollar value depending on your Steem Power. Find out on SteemWorld how much yours is worth - I bet you are surprised!

When you upvote you will burn 2% of your voting power which will generate in 2.4 hours. That means you can and should use 20% of your voting power every day because that is as much as you regenerate each day in total. That equals 10 full 100% upvotes or many more with smaller percentages. You will earn curation rewards for each upvote depending on many factors. 25% of each post is designated for the curators. You will share that with all others and get more of the pool when you vote early and the post gets plenty of upvotes after you.

2) Curation Trails



the-1up-idea.jpg

If manually curating is too time consuming for you or if you trust the judgement of others better than you might be interested in curation trails. You can use tools like Steemauto to automatically upvote the posts that the leader of a trail you are following is upvoting. This is a popular mechanic on Steem and can be very profitable when you follow someone like @cryptoctopus or use the new 1UP curation system.

This will allow you to create even better curation rewards than doing it manually and just create a nice passive income of new Steem every day for you. All you have to do is collect your payouts and at the same time you can support great curation projects and the people who profit from them.

3) Vote Selling



smartsteem.jpg

Yes, that is indeed a thing and people are using this heavily to promote themselves and even make some profit with it. As a stakeholder of Steem Power you can use services like @minnowbooster or @smartsteem to sell your votes to their users. They will automatically send you your payouts and other people can use your upvotes to achieve greater visibility on the Steem community. On top of that you will still earn curation rewards.

You can even create a voting bot out of your account and run profitable bid-bots via the Steem Bot Tracker application. This is a goldmine with current high Steem Dollar (SBD) prices and will not require any marketing when listed on the tracker. This is a 24/7 money machine.

4) Delegation Selling



blocktrades.jpg

One of the amazing features of being a Steem power holder is delegating your power to others. It allows you to keep your stake but temporarily allow someone else to use it and earn curation rewards instead of yourself. This has become a profitable business for many Steem Power holders and Minnowbooster ( @minnowbooster ) and Blocktrades ( @blocktrades ) offer automated market places for that.

You will never loose any delegated Steem Power and you can always undelegate it again. keep in mind that your Steem Power will take one week before it returns to you from the moment you undelegated it. This helps to avoid gamification with that mechanic. During that time nobody can use your power. A popular field field for delegations are bid-bot holders who sell their votes in public bids several times each day.

5) Delegation Sponsorship



utopian.jpg

One of the finest way to use your Steem Power is by delegating it to a sponsorship program of one of the new Steem platforms like Utopian ( @utopian-io ), dMania ( @dmania ) or DTube ( @dtube ). They will use your Steem power to upvote the contributions to their platforms and help to grow their users. Utopian.io is the leader of this system with nearly 4 million delegated Steem Power and a return of 20% from the contributors posts. Check out this video for further instructions.

In my opinion this is the future of many new platforms based on Steem and you should make plenty of use of this opportunity because it will create a massive success for the platforms and that will increase the value of Steem and hence your investment. Utopian.io is creating thousands of new open source contributions each week and has become indeed a utopia for many content creators like myself.

6) Self Upvoting



shark.jpg

It is your stake and you can do whatever you want with it. That includes self-upvoting as well. If you post your own proper articles and upvote them that is no problem. But don't be fooled into easy Steem by upvoting your own spam posts and comments: You will trigger the massive wrath of other stakeholders and they will flag you and take away all your upvotes effectively annulating your used voting power which will result in massive opportunity costs. So don't do it more than you give back in form of good content. It is also not good for the growth of the Steem blockchain if you just use your voting power on yourself and hence not in your own best interest.

Conclusion


The chances to make massive return of investments with Steem are hidden in Steem Power. Trust into the cryptocurrency you have acquired and use its power to earn more Steem by fueling the ecosystem with your upvote power and help to build the future of financial rewards, social media and decentralized information. There is money everywhere. Power up and get your share of it!

Bitcoin.png

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Trying to make it at Steemit will require sustained effort. I've been encouraged by the progress made by some of those who came before me. Therefore I will continue being somewhat involved.

After seeing STEEM's rise in price, I've been tempted to send my units to Bittrex and cash in. However, that will mean my Steem Power will be reduced. And I will be back at upvoting posts and comments I like for only $0.01. So I'm leaving my STEEM here.

By the way, I've observed that my replies had brought in more upvotes than my posts. Maybe this is the niche I should focus on - commenting(?)

Commenting is a fantastic way to make money. I upvote every comment with effort gladly. With me alone you can make many Dollars over the week.

Don't cash out more Steem than you need for your living. Leave everything else Steem Power. Trade your SBD on Bittrex into Steem and power them up. This will change your life in one year from now forever! this is at least my personal strategy. :)

actually I like more commenting then posting (sometimes it might be hard to post something good), so this way we communicate and share and agree or disagree
sometimes it pains to cash out, it seems like you're selling your voice for few dollars, sorry for being so extreme.

Yes, commenting makes this whole thing work. If it would be just for the money it would have no soul!

But cashing out is also the key why this place is so unique and rich in conversation because it draws people to the blockchain and makes them interact. I would not spend so much time here without the monetary component. But due to that element I am having tons of fun to answer the 107th comment to my post. Not because I hope to get an upvote in return but because I know that somewhere on the line we are both getting something out of it which provides for us and the future of our children.

I am new to this platform and I find it very interesting. Making money commenting will be a great opportunity for many people...

same here and the encouragement of intaraction on steemit is something I never seen! Really cool

Hopefully Facebook will come up with something. Wouldn't it be great if our posts and comments there would become like at Steemit!

Not saying this is impossible for facebook to do but it is not a blockchain. I would imagine facebook would have to integrate some new type of platform for users to earn.

I will follow your advise @flauwy upvote articles on Steemit, dMania, DTube, Utopian. Thank you for always sharing very informative advise especially for newbies who need to power up.

Yes, this post is particularly meant for all the investors who helped bringing the Steem price recently from under a Dollar to over 3. They need to work with the system to make it a great experience for them, for us and for the Steem price. ;)

So the price of steem have negative and positive effect on steem power or delegating power. Am hearing this for the first time.

No wonder if I upvote 2-3 post, my steem power run down faster than before.

No, the price of Steem defines how much your upvote is worth. Your SteemPower never changes with the price and delegated power is also influenced by the price.

When you upvote 3 posts you have burned 6% of your total power (assuming you upvoted each with 100%) which makes your next upvote 6% less worth.

Hey flauwy, first time reader of your material. I like what I see. Thanks for taking the time to put out some info to investors who may not be familiar with our ecosystem. Hopefully they take your advice.

Hey, I recognize your name from somewhere. Great that you like my content! Check out my Steemy videos which is the main thing I do here.

That steem world thing is cool I was trying to figure out when my voting power was back to full strength and that tells you exactly when that will be

Yes, it is a tool that runs always in the background is fantastic to watch your incoming votes and comments and much much more.

bring more and more people under steem and increase its value

Im not an investor, and definitely my SP is minimal. But this gives me an idea to power up so i can earn more. Thanks for sharing @flauwy

I have earned all my Steem Power here on Steemit, DTube and Utopian. And I will continue to safe more and more of it. It will become very valuable one day!

I was totally unaware of 'curation trails'. This is a great idea. Sometimes I have a lot of time to read. Sometimes I don't have a spare minute. It might end up upvoting more quality than simply selling the upvote.

Yes, if you follow the right trail you can do a lot of good. I am building the 1UP project where the hivemind decides with equals votes who gets upvoted. :)

this is awesome! I am going to check out the project now... kudos for the good work you do!

WOW!!! What a nice post! Thanks for the overload of very very usefull information. I learned a few things and will use some of the stuff mentioned in here. Great work!

Hehe, yes it is a ton of info but by far not my longest post. ;)

I recently sold most of my SBDs to buy steem, i felt i was doing the wrong thing, i also felt i was going to lose, so i decided to power all my steem up..but i was still not satisfied with all i did, because i was not sure of what i was doing..not until this moment.I still need more eye opening articles on this issue anyway.i would really appreciate a reply.

I think that was a brilliant move of yours. Make sure to use your power wisely. Find the right approach for you and let the money come. Combined with continous posting and your future is secured.

Nice article, just one remark.

The vote slider still only comes after 500 sp does it not? That means for most of the 44000 users that they do not have this yet, maybe edit this?

And personally i like the comments as well and reward the ones that are thought out and check the writers of the random “nice posts comments” to see if they do this often and if so I do not reward those

No, this only applies on Steemit but none of the other platforms. Steemit has already announced on Steemfest that they change this very soon.

I also love upvoting comments. :)

Great post, most people (including me) don't want to face the fact that you have to reinvest the pennies you make on posts and comments in steem power. to make bigger profits on posts. No such thing as easy money!

Steem Power is incredibly powerful and much more worth than anything you can take our of here. Stack it up now while it is still affordable.

Great summary here. I love how there are several ways to make some Steem here on the platform. What I would like to see in 2018 is more focus put on discussions, like how its done on reddit. Great post for new users. Happy holidays

That will happen via the new community accounts. This will be a very cool system which is similar to Sub-Reddits.

Thank you for posting this @flauwy . it helps me to understand more about Steem i'm new here so this helps me a lot ! Thank you Very Much.

That is great. I hope many people will find this useful and start powering up. :)

very nice and detailed post this is the one which cleared many doubts too thanks for sharing this one

You are welcome. Stack up your Steem Power now as long as you get so much money for your SBD. :)

Excellent stuff man. You are doing great just keep it up

Thx, it is a constant hustle. ;)

Great. A lot of learning. I like these bots. Even if it worries me a little if it's healthy for Steemit in the long run. I doubt that so far. I like it here and I'd love to put more money in it, but that's what I'm worried about.

Yes, it is a weird phenomenon but it works in harmony with the code and people can use that for many good reasons. It is also a game with a grind for coins.

Good Morning flauwy, not that we understand each other wrongly, I'm not looking for arguments against steemit/steem/sbd, I've actually fallen in love. And of course I also see the chance for me to rent power to bots, but: just this makes me worry, because in a way this is a rather unhealthy money printing machine. I would like to be convinced of the opposite.

I saw that bots are also used for good purposes, and of course I'm happy about that.

the question is: how does it behave in the long term and is it healthy?

Nobody knows that. ;)

Thanks man! Very informative blog.. as a new member of steemit i find it very helpful to me.. a big thumbs up! keep up the good work man! :)

Self upvoting is very common, thanks for the great information, I like buying buying delegating power, for the growth of new account and to make money. Keep sharing

Yes, stuff like that can help your account to grow faster and find more readers.

Grrat information you provide sir i am new in steemit and i don't anything but after reading your article now i am able to under steemit and how we can earn thank you sir for your valuabke information

You are welcome. Make sure to get as much Steem Power as you can and you will have plenty of passive income in the future!

Thank for the information, I am a newbie in steemit, and this feed really help a lot!

Keep coming, I have tons of tutorials and videos. ;)

didn't knew about delegation got the answer thanks for the help and for sharing the post

Glad to be of assistance.

Super! Endlich weis ich mal was ich damit machen kann.
Hab sogar SD gekauft weil ich nicht wusste was besser ist. Danke für diesen super Beitrag.

Freut mich dass er dir geholfen hat. Die üblich Abkürzung fpr Steem Dollars ist übrigens SBD für Steem Backed Dollars. :)

Werde es mir merken :-). Alles ziemlich neu und sehr verwirrend hier. Was hat eigentlich der SBD für ein Sinn? Steem ist ja Krypto und Steemit die Plattform. Was der SBD genau soll???? Hab halt mal paar gekauft. Power ist aber besser jetzt wo ich weis was man damit machen kann. Vielen Dank dafür

Thank you for useful information. Your article is very useful (especially for new Steemers like myself).

Use your advantage to be still early on Steemit. You can now earn plenty of money which you can then power up and make yourself a passive income system. :)

Agree and follow your tips
()

Thank you for the post @flauwy, priceless information...
I've been on steemit for 6 months and am still in the process of understanding steemit well. This post comes as a refresher and I look forward on how I could use all the other steem services you mentioned to further advance my knowledge. Thanks once again. Have followed you so I can read your posts in the future too...

Haha, I am glad I could even make a difference for an experienced user like yourself. :)

really much good post and good advise from ur experience but about delegation i want to get from blocktrades but they said the power is finished and how i get delgation steem power @flauwy

They are overrun right now because of the high SBD price. Everyone wants some delegation so they stopped their service for now but will re-open it soon.

I followed your post and saw, I need a very upvote and comment, will anyone help me?

Hi @flawy... I am trying to stack more SBD into SP. You said it perfectly...there is really a big difference as far as value is concerned.. I can regulate the slider if the user's content is really worth my upvote. I would like to join those communities you said like Chainbb, utopian, Busy, etc...due to lack of time I have not really looked into them ..A teenage friend of mine who I coached before on the steemit basics is a real talent on crypto ... she even outnumbered me in terms of reputation and rewards .. she is an asset to the ecosystem.. and now she's the one coaching me on how to invest in crypto. Thanks for sharing.

The student becomes the teacher. Something we all eventually experience. :)

very good to put all these things here, we have alot of new users and they need to learn alot :)

Yeah, there will be many more new users soon enough. ;)

This is awesome, how about sharing this post outside Steemit? Can I shre it on my twitter and facebook?

You don't need my confirmation to share this. Please go and do so!

Investors have a lot of power and depending on where they put their money they can seriously ruin the platform.

These comment upvote bots for example are absolute cancer and they put all the better comments below them. It pisses on quality.

Or investors delegate their cash to scumbags that massively downvote others for shits n giggles.

As an investor, you have the potential to destroy Steem, use it wisely.

With great power comes great responsibility.

Some investors don't care enough but others certainly do. The Utopian project lives from the generosity of sponsors. Hence, some use it wisely and some don't.

Very fitting quote.

There will always be scumbags. It is funny that there ain't a lefty or righty community yet that organized to downvote the other side.

That they didn't do it yet is probably based on this: You don't play with the money of other people.

I just powered up and my account went from $30 to about $69. I started looking at people's wallet and noticed that nobody had any funds in other places except Steem power. I don't understand the whole 13 payouts thing yet, but I'm learning more everyday. Thanks for the very informative post. I will upvote you later today when I'm above 95%. I also resteemed you so I can show my sister.

Having liquid Steem makes very little sense and that is why nobody has it. SBD is just for exchanging anyways so people often quickly sell it. The only thing we all want and need is Steem Power. Without it Steem would not work.

Press power down and you receive 1/13th of your Steem Power as liquid Steem every week for 13 weeks.

Thank you for the info, I hope it will be a long time before I need to power down. This minnow is working this platform for all it has to offer and meeting great people along the way. Have a Happy New Year 🎉

Congratulations @flauwy, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1182 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $9745.66. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Thanks for the detailed tutorial on this. The pics really help! @mamajeani read this! 😊

pretty nice 😊👍

Thank for sharing.. Very good for knowledge... Ilike

This post has received a 2.26 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @flauwy. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 23.26 % upvote from @kittybot thanks to: @flauwy.

This post has received a 10.81 % upvote from @upmyvote thanks to: @flauwy. Send at least 1 SBD to @upmyvote with a post link in the memo field to promote a post! Sorry, we can't upvote comments.

You got a 40.60% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @flauwy!

This post has received a 16.04 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @flauwy

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

You got a 2.01% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @flauwy!

this post and your helpful idea is helping many steemians.

This post has received a 34.54 % upvote from thanks to: @flauwy.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.010 SBD to bid for votes.
The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!
ROI Calculator for Investors click here!!!

This post has received a 2.42 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @flauwy.

Thanks for the valuable information you gave.I also was eager to know what to do to be a good steemian.your guidelines are very helpful for a new user.again thank you.

Powering up makes a bigger part of the community and you have many more opportunities to generate new Steem for yourself and others. Thats't the foundation of Steem. :)

Thank you for share this tutorial, very useful for me as a beginner @flauwy
Don't forget to visit my blog.

There are 2 pages
Pages