Steem Nearly Touched $8! - SBD Comeback?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

steem-at-7-78.jpg

With a new All-Time High of $7.78 we continue the streak of Steem in the first days of 2018. Even though such high price for Steem feels bizarre it is certainly not undeserved. Steem is a power house and will change the world!


We are now in a very forward directed momentum of Steem. For those who are new to the blockchain this will become their status quo. However, the huge gain has come so quickly that our upvote worths are not yet adjusted to the new price. The value of Steem on Steemit is taking the average of the last 3.5 days. Check out SteemNow and click on the Steem price in the top right corner to see the average price chart.

steem-average.jpg

Here comes the cake

In one week your upvotes will be worth more than twice as much as now (assuming Steem stays above $6 until then). So the worth of your wallet as shown on Steemit is also incorrect and way too low right now!

cake.jpg

Getting Steem is Becoming Difficult


One unfortunate side-effect of the high Steem price is that it will now be so much more difficult to earn Steem. Don't get me wrong, we still all get our weekly payouts and nothing has changed there. Except for the amount of Steem we will receive at the end of the week. That always depends on the current market price unlike SBD which is always distributed as if it would still be worth $1 USD.

However, there is still hope to get some Steem to a great price: Some believe that SBD will increase rather dramatically based on market prediction methods. From what we see how stable SBD hovers between $7-10 during the past few weeks I think they are on to something.

Here is a chart by @ew-and-patterns (Post Link) where the next target is $37 for SBD. These things are of course no sightseeing and should be handled with care. We will see what happens. This is enfolding during the cause of January - or not.

SBD to Steem Ratio


No matter how high the prices of Steem and SBD might rise, if you want to get more Steem power it all comes down to the ratio of how you can exchange SBD into Steem. Thanks to the high SBD price we can exchange it into Steem for a current ratio of 1.4 Steem per SBD. A few weeks ago the ratio was over 1:5. And a few weeks before that the ratio was more or less 1:1. So you see there is a huge difference in the amount of Steem you can aquire depending on how high SBD is.

ratio.jpg

So the hope is now that SBD is growing much faster than Steem and hence creates a much better ratio again. I am counting on a 1:3 ratio and better again and I will hold my SBD for a week or more to see if we can achieve that.


Recent Videos To Kickstart Your 2018 On Steem


@flauwy.png

Sort:  

Are you serious, you are saying:
where the next target is $37 for SBD
Do you see that you are exaggerating, some thing
I hope this will be, when it will become him and we will all be happy.

for steem maybe rich next year 100 usd and sSBD can go more higher to 1 k usd next year

Well, according to the trader analysts I have read it will spike that high and fall back to something over 20. But please don't take my word for it. This is just speculation. But apparently the low supply and marketcap can quickly pull the coin up.

Even though such high price for Steem feels bizarre

you know i felt the same way, it was so WEIRD to see STEEM go up like that when we have seen it so low for so long. i'm really glad to see steemit get the attention it so deserves! :)

We are living the revolution!

I am very much in the "it feels to good to be true" camp. Long may it continue. This article is 3 hours old and the price is up another dollar : )

Awesome @flauwy sbd/steem ratio is so important - @penguinpablo recently added the median price chart which shows the current steem price for payouts as published by the Steem witnesses. Click on steem price to see the chart: https://www.steemnow.com/

Here is the post about the update:
https://steemit.com/steemnow/@penguinpablo/steemnow-com-update-steem-price-chart-added

Awesome info! Thats fantastic to know.

Thanks for this @otage. I've found the median price chart but how do I work out the ratio?

The median price of Steem has to do with your payouts.

For the the SBD/Steem ratio you must go to your Steemit wallet and click on the arrow next to Steem or Steem Dollars which will access the Market in the drop down menu. The Market will show you the current ratio and you can also convert from SBD to Steem or vice versa very easily here. The current SBD/Steem ratio is 8/10 so the SBD price to buy Steem is 0.80 Steem. The price was as low as 0.19 Steem very recently which is much better for those of us who are stacking Steem!

Here is the market page - I circled the SBD to Steem conversion price. This is what you want to keep an eye on. The lower the better for buying Steem. Both SBD and Steem prices rise and fall but the ratio determines how much Steem you will get in exchange for the SBD.

market.jpg

Thank you so much!!! 😊

Hi @otage. Can I just check if I've got this right?

When I look at the ask price today it is 0.79 which is similar to the above. When I first looked before Christmas it was 0.36 so am I right in thinking that would have been a better to try to buy steem and then power up?

As I'm very new here is there an argument for powering up no matter what the price to get more SP or is the amount I'd get not likely to make much difference?

I don't really understand how powering up benefits me. I think it makes my upvote more valuable but does it have any other implications?

Thanks for your help!

Yes you are correct .36 is much better than .79 because you could buy double the Steem for the same amount of SBD when it is at .36. Powering up is necessary to increase your voting power and I highly recommend it. Doing it regularly is probably the best way to go since you are just starting out. This will give you a good average over time and not be as risky as trying to time the market. The only thing to watch is when SBD drops below the price of Steem and the ratio goes above 1 the price will be too high. At that point it is not beneficial to receive the 50/50 payout and you should consider switching to 100 percent power up of Steem. But you must select it before you post - it is an option on the bottom right of your posting window and it cannot be changed once you post until your next post. Also be careful because there is a third option in the menu called decline payouts. This does as it says and keeps all the payouts in the rewards pool no matter how many votes you get and can’t be changed until your next post. It is used for various service messages from Steemit and people that want to show trust by declining payouts. I have hit it by mistake on my phone app. :) A few other things about powering up: Steem that is powered up will continue to grow to counter act the dilution of Steem that occurs overtime with the creation of new Steem for rewards etc. Also Steem power is safer from hacking etc. because it is locked up for a period of time. This gives you the time to try to recover your account if anything like that happens before the criminals could transfer out any Steem power. So to unlock your Steem power to move from Steemit or transfer on Steemit you will need to power down. The process takes 13 weeks. You can choose any amount that is available in your wallet. You will be receive 1/13 of the selected amount in negotiable Steem at the end of the week for 13 weeks.

Thanks again @otage for taking the time for further explanation. This stuff is challenging for those of us who came here for the social platform and have no experience of trading.

No problem. One big thing I forgot to mention. There is a quirk in the system that always pays out SBD as if it were equal to $1. So even though the price of SBD is currently at $9 they will pay you as if they were only worth $1 so it is giving us a 9 for 1 bonus. Keep 50/50 payouts unless SBD goes below $1. The ratio is just for getting a better price on Steem.

I'm into my third week on Steemit and, despite reading lots of posts and watching videos I just can't get my head around Steem, SBD and powering up.

I powered up some Steem just after Christmas but didn't know how to do so with SBD. And people seemed to be saying that now wasn't a good time.

So would you recommend doing nothings for now @flauwy? I feel like I'm never going to understand this. I'm trying but so far I'm just not getting it.

You cannot power up SBD. Only Steem. If you want you can sell your SBD for Steem and power that up. Nobody knows what will happen. All we know is that we all want more Steem Power. ;)

I will wait with my SBD and see what happens. I might loose money that way. I might gain some. Either way, I earned it all here so no hard feelings if it doesn't work out for me.

Thanks for taking the time to respond. It's much appreciated.

I was already wondering ​because I​ was also the opinion that the upvote power should have been​n increased. But thanks to your post I understand now that there is a delay and also depending on ​where the Steemprice is standing.

I just learned the delay is 3.5 days. The current avergae value of Steem is at $4.82 and will pull up more and more with every hour!

What I don't quite get is why do people invest in STEEM on exchanges? I can understand SBD as it is unique such that it should never drop below $1, but what's the value of STEEM exactly? I'd love to get your opinion on that.

Steem is the most valuable ressource on the planet - after water. With Steem Power you can make soooo many good things. I wrote plenty of articles about that.

https://steemit.com/steem/@flauwy/steem-investor-guide-how-to-make-money-with-steem-power

https://steemit.com/steem/@flauwy/10-amazing-reasons-to-invest-into-steem-power-for-entrepreneurs

Hehe, quite the statement, but I'll take it 😁 Thanks a bunch for linking the articles. I'll dig into those!

Ich hoffe auf ein SBD Sprung zum Steem kaufen :-)

Wir alle, Uwe, wir alle. ;)

That would be awesome if the ratio bumped up again, i'm all into getting more STEEM / peace

Make it at least 1:3 dear Steem spirit.

Hey @flauwy, that you for the insight about steem etc. I am new to this and still have so much to learn, but I didnt know that earn't steem becomes less as the price goes up. I am not complaining as I really can see this platform really taking off on a massive scale. So better late than never.

Well, you might end up earning MORE Steem because now more people have high votes. Just the same payout is now giving less Steem than before. But I am sure that is not a problem.

could sbd go more higher than this ??

Maybe! Chances are not that bad as it looks right now.

and i thought it should reach dollar one soon

For those of you asking, the votes haven't increased in power because it follows a 3 day Steem Price Average.
Cheers

Thx. I thought it was seven.

This is really an exciting start of the year! Will see how it goes!

Thanks for sharing! Keep up on doing this great job!

Thanks, I certainly will!

Wir sollten wohl einige Stunden aufhören zu posten, denn sonst müssen wir unsere Artikel stetig aktualisieren. Hehe. Aktuell steht STEEM bei 8,4436 $ (Quelle: www.coingecko.com). Und das ist noch nicht das Ende der Fahnenstange. Wenn man Google Trends glauben mag, geht da 2018 noch einiges.

It means I should convert all of my SBD to Steem asap?

That is quite the opposite of what this article is about. And you should do your own research before you take action.

Hi kannst du mir sagen an wenn ich meine Steem Power Delegieren kann? Und ob es sich überhaupt lohnt. Danke schon mal
Hoffentlich finde ich deine Antwort irgendwie wieder

Utopian.io zahlt dir dafür was. Genauso dMania und Smartsteem. Ich bin mir nicht sicher wie profitabel es genau ist aber ich gebe SP an Projekte die ich födern will.

Vielen dank für deine Antwort. 2 mal schon THX

It is indeed an exciting start for most of us!

I really hope it keeps its trend and we get to see the rise on.And yes if we think it that way it will become harder to get Sp if the price increases but it will increase potential to the community and the investors I think !

This is good has steem and sbd are both increasing.. good to start 2018 with this good news

Thanks, I also thought it might be wise to hang on to some SBD, but on the other hand, I really want that Steem Power for social interaction. Now I still don't know what to do, LOL! Saludos!

It is actually smart to just take the 50/50 rewards at the moment.

As the gap is now close between SBD and Steem Power it ain't really worth it to convert SBD to Steem Power anymore.

Save your Steem Dollars and invest at a good time, remember, this is an all time high and it is unlikely that Steem will stabilize at this point.

Wait now, maybe the gap widens, if not you can still convert your SBD to SP later, the couple of cents more which you will have from that conversion ain't much anyway.

Maybe the gap will widen again, then it is the time to strike, otherwise you can also just cash the SBD out to fiat!

That is what I've been doing the last couple of days, just taking the 50/50 reward and watching the market. I have no interest in cashing out right now even if I fully expect the price to follow a pattern of ups and downs. Thank you for your time!

Now is definitely the time to wait or to cash out SBD to Fiat.

Anything else is not wise as the worth of SBD increases with a bigger gap between SBD and Steem as we have seen a couple of weeks before.

Great advice!

You got a 6.56% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @flauwy!

A great year for all of us.

This post has received a 7.04 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @flauwy.

So maybe we should all get 100% SBD on our posts and then retroactively convert them into Steem Power. What do you think?

I think that could destroy Steem. Right now parts of the payouts are locked into the accounts via Steem Power. If all would be liquid it could happen that most of the inflation would leave the system forever instead of growing the user accounts. You can't expect people to reinvest their earnings into Steem. But I am not sure about that. Because it would also lower the Steem supply.

As it turns out it's not even possible to get 100% SBD. The way they implemented it, it's fairly safe. You can either fully convert to Steem Power, or settle on a 50/50 split. With that said, I think going for 50/50 is the most logical choice, as it allows us to at least get some SBD to re-invest into STEEM.
I initially set 100% Power Up on my posts, but I think that's not the best deal given the economics.

That's NOT the choice you should select right now!

I see. Can you elaborate why this approach is bad?

Wow, it happens so fast! Great review!

Hope price of sbd increases so we can get more steem in exchange of sbd :D