Sort:  

Yeah me neither lol. I think I came on shortly after HF19 so I believe ever since I've been on here we've always been paid part STEEM and part SBD. I never realized so much went into the calculation though.

The majority of users on here have probably only ever been paid in SBD and Steem Power; I thought this would be the first time most people have ever seen a payment in STEEM, which is why I wrote the post.

A lot of the math going on behind the scenes is pretty complex. But thankfully, we don't have to understand it to be able to use the system :)

Right! But you made it better understanding. Thanks

Thank you so much for this! I was genuinely puzzled by the STEEM payout but I knew there was a logical reasoning behind it.

I'm glad it helped to clear things up for you!

There are a lot of intricacies to the system and good reasons for most things to be that way. Thanks for reading and commenting!