You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Have there been more downvotes since the button was relabeled and moved?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

But that is what happens, the two posts I talk about were Christian posts, OK I am agnostic so I really shouldn't care, but if the only reason for downvoting them was that they are against the downvoter's ideals or beliefs (in this case I don't know if that applies as the downvoter is a well known bot) then you can obviously see the problem with downvoting.

And yet I have seen these days a lot of posts by one person who upvotes himself, is posting the same thing ten times, and none of you downvoting gurus who swear by downvoting have seen the need to downvote this. Are you guys afraid of downvoting him, or is it just cool to downvote someone when he can't hit back? See, I am against downvoting but if it has to be done do it fairly and do it completely don't be afraid of the consequences.

Sort:  

I've downvoted probably more than almost anyone else on the entire platform so don't look at me when it comes to people not downvoting.

Probably a good part of the problem is that downvotes are so extraordinarily rare (I had previously heard 0.01% to 0.1% but here we are seeing 0.005% which is really negligible) which turns every single downvote into some sort of man-bites-dog type of story.

If we're able to get downvotes used more frequently by more people then more of them will be about pushing back against reward milking, as is intended.