You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM blockchain hardfork 19, on June 20, 2017

in #steem7 years ago

I don't know if I really understand exactly what the hard fork is, I do believe I get the basic idea. I still think the best thing to do is put a limit on the value of a vote, I mean regardless of how huge a whale you are you're vote cannot exceed a certain value, let's say $5.00, so even if you are Ned your upvote at it's highest level can't be more than $5.00, what would this do? It would mean that 2 or 3 whales can't make a friends post go to hundreds of dollars rewards and the post actually sucks. And whales would really be able to spread the wealth this way, they could vote for 100 posts and each one would get $5.00, in @craig-grant's case he is not a whale but since he does have a lot of SP he would probably be able to give $5.00 per upvote, which would not hurt him at all as I believe that is what he gives right now, perhaps a little more. Of course you should always be able to decide what percentage of your voting power you want to give each post. This would not change my or other minnows voting power so no change there, we would still cooperate with our favorite writers with a few pennies per post. If what you say about the whales not upvoting made the price of Steem go up, this would certainly help to keep it up, because to make a thousand dollar post you would have to get a lot of votes, which I know many people are capable of, look at this post of yours you have at this moment 188 votes and $85.00, probably no whale has voted for you, so you lose nothing in fact as whales will have more votes available they would probably look for good posts like this one and upvote them. This is just an idea I have I don't know if it would work.