You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Clarifying my decision not to support EOS-related posts and witnesses (100% of post rewards donated to curation initiatives)

in #steem6 years ago

I went and listened to the entire 3-4 hour podcast. lol. I heard Luke's answers. While you had legitimate tough questions, I found Luke's responses to be very convincing that there wouldn't be a conflict of interest, at least not on his part. I enjoyed the podcast. It was a healthy and interesting debate/discussion.

Sort:  

It doesn't matter if he's convinced himself of that subjectively. In either business or law, when there's even an appearance of a potential conflict (even if you think you could do your job well enough), you stay away from putting yourself in a position where people believe that you may be asked to favor one or the other. It's an objective standard and a matter of trust for the community. That's why corporate shareholders, officers, employees, and other stakeholders demand an adherence to that simple code of ethics.

I understand this perspective, but I don't see the cryptocurrency space in the same light as business or law. Many people are very, very frustrated with the legal system (war on drugs, victimless crimes, new jim crow, etc). They also see the problems of multinational businesses which work so closely with nation state governments as to become indistinguishable to them (regulatory capture, revolving door politics, lobbyists writing bills to regulate themselves, etc).

I don't think these concerns apply to block producers because of how the motivational incentives for DPOS function. The job is clearly outlined, and I don't think there is room to manipulate one way or the other without directly being removed from the position by voters. I guess I'd like to see some more concrete examples of what "potential conflicts" exist within this specific DPOS system.

It's a simple matter of time. People don't realize that the witnesses here typically average 10-20 hour workdays applied to the chain. Quite literally. Take out all the conflicts clearly stated on this page, and you still cant divide a human in two or add 24 more hours to a monday.

I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)