You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Resteeming > Posting!

in #steem6 years ago

Hello @jjcali - I agree with what you are saying about a resteem being more valuable than the upvote, but one thing I’m noticing is that unless you have a large upvote like in a thread like this you run a huge risk of never being able to break through to folks even if you have an idea that might help create a potential solution. One of the later points Jerry mentioned is how hard it is to visit an author’s blog roll and then try to find the work from that author in amidst the resteems. Now I’m a total new guy here (3 whole days) but I’ve already begun wishing our blog rolls had something like three frames. One for my content that I’ve created, one for things I would like to resteem and support and share with folks who have decided to follow, and maybe a third frame for things that I know I want to reference or return to. It seems to me that with something like this kind of interface change, folks would have a great deal more freedom to resteem without running a risk of “dilution”which as a puny small fry like me... that is a real concern. Do you think something like this could actually balance the value that is created by both upvotes and resteems?

Sort:  

I like the concept of being forced to view new information. The key is to not follow people with bad content and resteems. I think having subsites such as Dtube, Utopian, Dsound, etc. will help add a level of focus to the content.

I expect you are right about the subsites adding some way of sorting things. That will help, but I’m hoping someone out there in Steem app land is thinking about ways of putting more configurable sorting into the hands of users.
I can’t help but think that if I and others had an option to resteem other peoples contributions while yet still being able to not clutter our own work that would go a long way to addressing at least a portion of what Jerry was identifying as a point of frustration. A point I too share even this early in the experience. It’s no way a deal breaker, it just seems really suboptimal to me. Thank you for responding to me. Thanks also for such a generous upvote. It was kind of you.