You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #1 Data Point Proving The Value of Steem!

in #steem7 years ago

Hey Jerry, Thanks for that info. I am getting a little worried about steemit though. I bet 80% or more of the content isn't even getting read. It's a great place for bloggers but, I hate to say this but if it was a little more like facebook. I could get all friends on here sharing pics of their kids etc. We really could get paid for doing what we do on facebook for free. I'm not going anywhere though. I know steemit will keep changing to do what's best for the steemit community.

Sort:  

It is okay to be worried and the question is how helpful is it to be worried? What makes Steemit superior already to Facebook is the potential for posts to be found in Google search which already brings many users here automatically and will continue to bring even more as the website grows. I focus on whether I enjoy making a post rather than how many people read it because no number is ever enough for readers! Not a lot of people read my early Facebook posts or most of my posts for the next ten years. Not all of us need a huge audience! Just a few friends investing a bit together can easily earn hundreds of dollars a month just voting up their own posts here. For example, if my wife and I each started from $0 and invested about $2,500 to buy about 1000 Steem each, we could literally vote our own posts as you voted your own comment up for about $5 a day at the current prices or $150 a month. Not even accounting for a price increase, that is $1800 a year back on a $2,500 investment. That is why I am not worried!

I like the fact you mentioned that the post are searchable in google... I did not actual even realize that! To add to the picture/facebook comment from @ginacarole there is absolutely no stopping anybody to do exactly what they do on facebook.... the best for new users without much SP and any proper input to the platform is just to do exactly what they do on FB.... bring your friends that are already liking your pics on facebook and create your own audience.... plus if they all decide to invest few hundred bucks and turn them into SP then there you can have a nice closed circle community... Well, just my thoughts!

Exactly @czechglobalhosts thank you for making it so easy to understand!

Thanks for mentioning those facts that I have not been realised for my whole life!

Is there any reason they cant use Steemit like Facebook? It would require getting everyone over here, but everyone would be making some money. They could post in both places, leaving a link in facebook to their steemit post.