Spend Your Steem In The Real World With Visa (US Residents Only At This Time)

in #steem6 years ago

stecd4.PNG

A few days ago I read a post about converting Steem into a prepaid Visa Card.
I decided to try it for myself so I followed the instructions that @rigaronib explained in his post and went to www.steem.cards I created and account and added my posting key from my wallet and made the purchase. Since this was just a trial run and I'm not a whale yet, I chose the $25.00 Visa Card.

As you can see here, I used Steem and Steem Dollars for the transaction.

steemcard.PNG

You will notice the $7.95 activation fee and the $2.95 shipping fee. This is probably not cost effective for a $25.00 card but remember, this was just a trial for me. The next time I order it will be for a $500.00 card and that will be justifiable in my mind.

stecd3.PNG

The shipping took a few days extra because I used a P.O. Box. If you don't use a P.O. Box I think they said UPS would deliver and it would arrive much quicker. I was not really concerned about the time frame so I was satisfied with the time it took for the card to arrive.

steemcard2.PNG

stcd8.PNG

The site address that I ordered the card from is www.steem.cards I had never seen a dot cards address before so I was a little hesitant. The site is well done and they offer a number of different cards besides the prepaid visa.

stcd5.PNG

My card arrived and I am very happy with the entire process. Now all I have to do is generate enough Steem to be able to purchase a few of the $500. 00 cards .

vc1.jpg

If you would like to see the post that lead me down this road, you can go to
https://steemit.com/life/@rigaronib/need-an-easy-way-to-use-your-magic-internet-money-in-the-real-word-without-the-use-of-a-bank-account-try-steem-cards

Sort:  

@givonwayne Thank You very much for un-following me today. I know that might sound a little crazy but I'm dead serious. Let me explain.
I try to keep up with people who do follow me using Steem Followers and the site had some issues of late and was down for a few weeks so I wasn't able to keep track like I normally do. I have no idea when you started following or why as I don't recall ever seeing a comment from you on anything I posted or on a comment I might have made on another's post.
In checking Steem Follower this morning I see you decided to drop me , I'm good with that, I don't take it personally when people do that either . I understand fully that I may not be everyone's cup of tea. Plain tea or sweet tea is always a choice as is following folks on here.
So not ever seeing you comment or interact with me I came to take a look around your blog and see what your interests are exactly and came across this post of yours.
I had no idea that this opportunity existed right now for converting earnings here to US currency this easily. I thought the only way was converting to some other currency on some exchange somewhere and I'm just not at that level of the crypto stuff. I didn't come here for the crypto but I will take it since what I have I did earn. Your post just showed me it is a lot easier than I thought.
So just wanted to say thanks for the information.
@sultnpapper

Interesting how things work out like that. Last night I got frustrated with my newsfeed because I was not getting posts from two of my friends that I invited to steemit. I was following over 6000 people since I joined up in December. I decided to unfollow all 6000 people and it took me about 2 hours to do that manually. I then went back and followed everyone who was following me. That process brought my followers count to 1824 and I was missing one to be even steven with my following count. I guess I missed you sorry about that. I am following you again and look forward to seeing some of your posts. Happy 2018 and good luck in steemit.

Yes, feeds can get pretty gnarly when you have those types of numbers, and everybody and their brother resteems stuff like it is going out of style so you see it a dozen times or more.
But this was excellent information, so thanks again.

That's cool you're actually able to cash it out! If you did the $500 card, would it be more cost-effective than transferring to Blocktrades or Binance, converting to ETH, then sending to Coinbase and withdrawing? Wait, of course it would be. Sorry, just thinking while typing.

Hey, thanks for the alternative suggestion. I will defiantly wait until I get $500 before I get another card. I like to dream about the day that I will be able to get 5 of those $500 cards a week coming in the mail box. That will be a miracle in the mailbox for sure. I hope the steem.cards site will still be in operation by then.

Very cool! Just shows you how real it all is.

Did you spend it all in one place?

Oh great! You just gave me a fantastic idea! Thanks !

woww, that's amazing news that I dunno before, it could be something that make us easy to journey in this life.

Congratulations @givonwayne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

First of all I would like to thank all of my prestigious followers. Secondly I want to send a shout out to all of the coders and producers that make this platform possible and finally I would like to say thanks to all of the robots for helping me to stay in this game. You all have no idea what this award truly means to me. I look back at the days when the only choices people had to choose from for social media was FB , Twitter and Insta. Oh how the times have changed. Just look at us now, we are wearing rolexes the size of dinner plates, riding in shiny black limousines and the badges are hanging like ripe tangerines in the rainforest. I know that I am running out of time here with this post so I will wrap it up now with this, thank you thank you thank you. (Applause, followed by upbeat orchestra music and dim the lights, go to commercial break, run bumper)

This is a pretty neat thing, but I agree with you about the activation fee. It would have to be an amount that would justify spending 7.95 on activation.

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by Steemian @chelsea88

Wow, thank you so much. I heard about you from a steemit radio show last night. @topkpop hosted the show on the steemstarnetwork called, All Play Friday. It was really fun and she mentioned the @eastcoaststeem and @chelsea88 I love the way steemit fosters such a vairied and diverse community. Thank you for taking an interest in this post and helping to spread the word with your kind resteem.

I really like this post givonwayne! keep it up!

This is awesome! :) Thanks for the review. I'm glad it works. Is there a way to reverse the process? I heard prepaid debit cards might work to buy crypto but regular credit cards for the most part do not.

Wow, thats a good question. I have never purchsed any cryto with cash or card. I started out in 2012 with a retweet offer of 10 cents. Blockchain dot info gave me 10 cents worth of btc for reteeting one of thier posts. Since that time I invested into some micro lending programs and my btc grew exponentially. I have used that profit to buy into everything else. I know coinbase allows you to buy with a credit card but I dont know about a prepaid card.

I don't think you can buy with any credit card on coinbase anymore. That's a really incredible story about your btc holdings.

Ok thats news to me. Thank you. What exchange do you uses and what coins are you hoping will increase in value this year?

Yeah the credit card companies aren't letting people buy on coinbase now. It is a new thing. I'm a fan of steem, bitcoin and ethereum.

Nice post sir, my question is: what is its function? is it used for despension of steem, or to buy card.

I traded my steem for a $25.00 US Dollar Pre-Paid Visa Card. Now I can take that Visa card and go to Mc Donalds and buy some hamburgers or I can use it at the gas station for some fuel to run my motor bike. Next time I will trade enough steem to purchse a $500.00 Dollar Pre Paid card, that is as soon as I can write a fantasic post that will get on the trending page and earn some serious steem and SBD. Hey Miracles still happen :)

Did you have to use blocktrades?

No I did not have to use blocktrades for this transaction. I was able to send it strait to steem.cards. They let you use your posting key to log in and make the trade.

That's good. I think blocktrades charges about 10% per transaction.