You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF20 Update: Operations Stable

in #steem6 years ago

Hey, @steemitblog, et al.

Thank you for stabilizing the changes made by the hard fork in the area of RCs. While I was not among those affected beyond Wednesday morning (PDT), I know through comments and posts read that people are glad to be able to get back to it.

I don't know if it's too early for community input or not, and if I have to go through a witness, I will, but I thought I would throw out a couple of things while it's fresh in my mind.

It's mentioned in the post that discussion could revolve around subsidization of the operations of the blockchain, which in essence seems to be happening now in some fashion, given the latest patch. I'm not sure if that means that things are similar to the way they were under bandwidth, where some might have been paying for other's use, or if subsidization was coming from Steemit or some mix, but in my estimation, rather than something built in, where it just happens, that it would be better if users with more RCs had a choice what to do with it.

I am one voice, so however consensus is reached, as long as it's true consensus among all those who know they should give their input and desire to share it (I would hope for tens of thousands at least), and they decide they want a certain percentage of RCs from each user to go to those without enough to operate, so be it.

However, I would much prefer to have the option to delegate, and to do so for free or at some cost, before subsidization automatically takes place.

I know that's more complicated, and that there will be plenty who might not want to participate anyway. However, it's not that much different than what it's been with delegating SP. You can certainly upvote at lower SP, but it doesn't mean it's going to be worth enough, even at 100%, to get much back in curation, and certainly not enough to regularly grow your account.

The difference being, you can't transact at all without sufficient RCs. Even so, I'm sure there will be many here who will voluntarily give of their RCs if they have it abundance. It's been happening with delegations.

The reason for this is to avoid inadvertently subsidizing the very spam accounts that this is supposed to be thwarting. There efforts will need to be continually hampered since their accounts will live on as long as STEEM does.

That said, I would guess that before anything would go into effect that the 10 x boost would need to be rolled back. Is there a timeline for that? An estimation? I ask because it would be good to start announcing what that time might be once the subsidization method is known, to give it some lead time and prepare people for it to occur.