TIP: WHICH PASSWORD ARE YOU USING TO LOGIN STEEMIT??

in #steem7 years ago

DON'T use your ORIGINAL 16+CHARACTER "MASTER" PASSWORD to login Steemit !!!

A Steemit Account will have 5 Unique Passwords = Permission keys Generated when you sign up for a Steemit Account making each set of Key/Password unique from all others.

(The ''Witness Key'' is used only by Steem Witnesses and is of no use for the typical user)


  1. Posting Key
  2. Active Key
  3. Memo Key
  4. Master Key

POSTING KEY

Did you know that you could use your Posting Key(Password) to sign into Steemit alongside your Username!

You would be just allowed to Post, Comment, Upvote & Follow via your Steemit Account however it's much safer than using your Master Password to Sign in!

Take care of your account, it's your money! :)

Sort:  

Also, if you keep your steem in steem power, it makes your account that much more unattractive to theives because it would take 3 months to power down to steal your steem. By that time, you can recover your account with the help of steemit by clicking on the "recover stolen account" Icon in the drop down menu.

Good advise!

Great post, thanks for the advice. I'll be sure to Resteem and pass on the knowledge!

Many thanks! :)

Steemit encryption is the best out there considering social media. Facebook accounts can be pretty easily hacked but here is a high security against phishing and other ways of inflitrating into the people's accounts. @greensmile upvote.

It's true. You can not compare steemit with Facebook. But we need to be very careful nowadays.

Wow thanks for this tip!
I had no idea we all had 5 passwords. I might stay logged in for now because I am on my main computer but I will definitely not be logging into the esteem app or steepit with the master key..

keep your master key safe and use it just to transfer SBD or steem...

Okay I'll take your advice. I'll write the master key down physically.

Im AutoLogged in, if it wasnt for that I'd be screwed."BELT... AND... BRACES" as they say ! ;)

Thank you very much for your advice, as i'm a new user is really helpful for me thanks

Great information

Really I had no idea about it. Thanks for the info @greensmile

Your welcome :)

Probably some good advice for sure!

I will post how to keep safe the permissions keys and where to find them

Yeah the post kinda left us hanging?? Not sure what to do with this new info but thanks for the heads up!

If you click right up screen, change password menu and then permissions.. you will find the 4 premission keys. One of them is the posting key which you can use to log in. Keep safe all of them.

I dont see it after HF19, where have they shifted the 4 permission keys to?

I just found out about the Posting key @steemit need to make sure all aware

Also make sure you use a sensible password 🤓

Thanks for letting everyone know. You have helped us learn more about steemit security. Maybe you can tell us where we can find these keys after HF19, cannot seem to locate them. Used to be displayed ... Thanks.

On the drop down menu which is located right up corner screen. Go to change password (it has a key drawing). Then you have one line with: Balances - Permissions - Password just below Blog/Cooments/replies/Rewards. Click Permissions and then you will see the 4 permission keys. Then you need to click at the box: show private key (right side).
Hope it helps :)

Really good to know, upvoting and resteemed.

Looks like I'm the only lost one here. I tried to "change password" thinking I could choose one...but, was given another long ass one. Does that mean I have two? What is the posting key? I'm not having one of my brighter moments..😏. I'll try to figure it out..