You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memos, keys and passwords, Balrogs and Fields of Despair. Be safe. Almost $100k wasn't.

in #steem6 years ago

If you are dealing with your keys through steemit.com site it is most likely that you have a Master Password that you got while creating your account. It's the one that starts with P. Owner key and others are derived from that password. So no, you can't get Master Password while having Owner private key, but you can get Owner private key from your Master Password (assuming that individual keys wasn't changed from derived ones).

Sort:  

Thank you very much!
I thought I have lost it since I didn't know Master exist also, didn't paid attention at registration but I just found it saved on my CD. Phew!

Good to know, that Master is ultimate key, above all other. I just mislead someone who I brought to Steemit. I need to fix this, thanks again for clarification.