An observation (and a question)

in #steem8 years ago

I am a bit new to this steam world, and so while browsing steemit I found that majority of the content(almost all) is related to "Steem" itself.

As I browsed thorugh the bitcointalk thread of steam, its first line says

"Steemit is a new social media platform built on the Steem blockchain where the community rewards individuals for their posts, comments and votes, co-founded by Ned Scott, CEO, and Daniel Larimer, CTO of Steemit and founder of Bitshares."

So isn't this supposed to be a "social media" platform, where we should be able to talk and discuss about a lot more things other than steem ?

I don't know if general public would like this idea or not but I beleive the discussions and the content shall expand as this community has a lot of potential to create something new and something big.

Sort:  

You can post anything you want, but obviously 99% of the SteemIt population is interested in SteemIt, while any other topic is a bit of a crapshoot (although some others seem to rise to the top easily).

This will change as tags (substreemits?) get more strongly defined or the site matures in general.

But even as it is right now, next time you want to write a Medium post, why not post on SteemIt instead? On Medium there is virtually no chance of a direct financial reward if it takes off. There's some chance on SteemIt, so it's worth choosing one over the other.

I agree that most content is directed to Steem but as the site matures and more people, like myself, who are brand new to cryptocurrency come on board it will change.

Right now, I think you get more points for talking about the steem. This I am sure will change.