You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The no bullshit guide to living off Steem

in #steem5 years ago

The challenge is to somehow increase widespread visibility and usage of Steem. Why aren't we Facebook yet? Why don't we have the attention of the common people? Why are we doing worse and worse each year?

Why are we still fighting for mere survival, when we ought to be thriving gloriously? It's every poet's dream to be able to simply write their heart onto a page, and then miraculously receive money.

No more begging, no more pandering, no more commissions. Just pure passionate fury and furious passion. That's how it used to be. I knew multiple writers who used Steem during its high-price glory days, and I saw each of them simply leave as the prices and payouts fell lower and lower into the abyss. Some stopped writing, some went to other places like Medium. They left Steem.

Once upon a time, all it took was to submit a poem, an essay, or a short-story, and no matter if it was my best work, or just a quickly jotted out poem I wrote in the heat of passion, I'd always feel like there was someone to read it, and better yet, someone to upvote it, such that I, just a small-time poet, could receive much needed funding.

But that's not how it is anymore. The golden-age is over, and now a dark-age has begun. More and more people leave, and like you said, it's merely an "investor's paradise." Even I'm not so out-of-the-loop that I can't see the investment potential. Look at how I'm delegating. I invested all the crypto I had into this Steem account so that I could make nearly exactly 1 Steem per day in delegation profit.

But that's not ideal. I don't want to be a mere investor. I want to be the one that people invest into, by being a glorious writer, a scholar, the first Scientific-Philosopher, and write glorious and noble essays, and to see the cash pile up as I do so.

Until that day comes, I'll be here waiting.

And if that day never comes, then it's true: Hopes and dreams cannot truly overcome the darkness of reality. Thus we suffer.

Sort:  

Why aren't we Facebook yet?

A bit of a ridiculous question to compare the two in such a way since there is fundamental differences in what the two are. It is like asking a chicken why it isn't a monkey.

Your last post was 3 months ago. Perhaps you should spend some time exploring what is going on here. Perhaps www.creativecoin.xyz is a good place to start.

But that's not ideal. I don't want to be a mere investor. I want to be the one that people invest into, by being a glorious writer, a scholar, the first Scientific-Philosopher, and write glorious and noble essays, and to see the cash pile up as I do so.

You will have to work harder to learn what is happening, not just put stuff out there in the hope someone sees it. That has rarely worked for anyone ever.