What would happen if steem were stuck at one dollar... forever?

in #steem6 years ago

Such a tragic event, our dreams of coming rich from steem would be "mooning" are long gone. But yet, maybe this sudden certainty might, in fact, become a blessing for many people? why would that be? let's take a look!

xshutdown650x300.png.pagespeed.gpjpjwpjwsjsrjrprwricpmd.ic.f1qL2xG1yr.png


A certain future brings a certain carrier


The thing with the steem blockchain is, it's not just numbers like bitcoin. We are having a branch here and a product that actually can with enough effort, work as a job for many people.

I am putting my soul into writing and blogging because I love it and it gives me the ultimate freedom. But I am also at the moment, gambling with the effort I am putting into it. Right now there's no certainty where steem will end up.

Will it all crumble to the ground or will we find success in the attempt to mass adopt and tokenise the internet? That is the true question here. Maybe one-day cryptocurrency all together will be banned from all of our countries(imagine whole EU took a step towards this direction) and while I know some people might say "they cannot do that", well, I think if people would risk going to jail for it... the masses of people would stick to the banks.

But Imagine if all of this uncertainty in not knowing, "am I working and putting my energy in this for nothing?" would be gone.

Imagine a world where the PRICE of steem would never rise or fall, but stay strong at 1 dollar. Would this truly be that bad when we trade it for certainty?

Surely my greedy part would say "No, I want to moon". But my longterm opinion with the goal of creating something of myself on the steem blockchain would be calming and maybe allow myself to even put more energy into it.
11_nm_comparison__184.png


If the product works, who cares about the price?


That's the interesting part about steem I guess, that we indeed are a utility token and a special one at. The price truly doesn't matter too much in the end as long as blockchain doesn't shut down. Surely we are getting "paid more" when prices are high but maybe that's a luxury that we should not hope for.

Do I still believe that steem will rise in price?
Of course, I do! I simply don't see a reality where this would not be possible. Maybe I am biased but when you put up the facts, the odds are high for steem to blow into infinity and beyond.

All I am saying is, if it should happen that we always would be stuck at a low steem price, maybe it is not that bad after all.

Sort:  

steem is at a point where its mass adoption will decide its fate while on the path it will have some difficulties too that's for sure but that's the main key for future growth aspect the supply is huge

Who knows where it will end up at? I feel a little reckless by putting too much of my fiat into STEEM sometimes. I have regular investments too which are going in the wrong direction.

STEEM however is more inflationary than those and just having more gives you more. It's a risk investing in it, but it's more fun that boring stocks and shares.

Agree @slobberchops! It's just way more fun having steem as an investment. (and maybe in some way more beneficial?)

There's no knowing where it will end up, but the good about steem even if the price won't rise and as long it don't dissappear into 0. It is still usable!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @holm from my point of view I would also like the moon, but at $1.00 it would not be bad, with me being a South-African and our Rand being unstable, it could turn out to be a very good investment to have Steem!!

Hi @holm!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.063 which ranks you at #3206 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 3208).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 499 contributions, your post is ranked at #83.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server