You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I bought my brother STEEM for Christmas and how you can do the same!

in #steem6 years ago

This is a really cool idea, I love it! As I was reading this, I thought imagine how happy the people who got Bitcoin as a present last Christmas are now. I'd say pretty damn pleased. But then I thought, what if it's the same with Steem, what if it does increase tremendously so that the people you give it to will be over the moon. But regardless, I think STEEM would be a valuable present.
Sadly, few people seem to trust crypto...or the idea of Steemit. As you say, it's very hard to promote the site to others. I recommended it to many friends who - although they liked the idea and saw that I was doing well - were reluctant to try...weird...

Sort:  

Getting people to come onto a new platform, still in beta, and participate with regular posting, upvoting and engagement is hard I agree. Telling someone to just keep a password somewhere in case the asset you gave them becomes more valuable is not.

I'm just trying to challenge the notion people seem to have that in order to invite people to STEEM they need to get them excited about cryptocurrency or blogging. They don't. No more so than giving your mum a bit of Tesla stock in 2012 because you were excited about it at the time does not require her to go get an electric car.

Very good points. And who better to invite new people to Steemit than the current users?