You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF20 Update: Restoring Continuity

in #steem6 years ago

I didn't realize new accounts only get 5SP now. It was 15SP when I joined. At only 5SP, even with this 10x patch, you will still only be able to either post or comment about once a day. That's thoroughly unacceptable.

This has been my concern a long time, and I've been trying to bring it to the attention of the witnesses for a while. How much SP one has cannot be how we determine who is a spammer and try to restrict their activity. You have to fight spam some way that doesn't also fight new users.

Anything that ultimately comes back to SP, as RCs do, is a bad method for fighting spam.

I think that something that measures engagement is a much better way to fight spam. UA scores are going a long way in that direction. Why not use something like that to determine how many RCs someone gets?

I understand the spending of RCs on all actions, but give people more to start with so that they are never running on empty just interacting as a real human being.